Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Sooo good! Everyone had seconds! All I had was "light" fruit cocktail in a can, and it still was awesome. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
THIS RECIPE IS EASY AND DELICIOUS. I HAVE MADE IT FOR MY FRIENDS AT WORK AND EVERYONE LOVES IT. I CHOOSE MAKE ONLY HALF OF THE GLAZE. I USE FRUIT COCKTAIL IN LIGHT SAUCE OR JUICE. I ALWAYS ADD WHIPPED CREAM FROSTING ON TOP! IF YOU HAVE A LUNCHEON, SHOWER OR PARTY TO GO TO THIS IS THE CAKE TO BRING! ENJOY OH AND IT'S SUPER MOIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
When I was making this cake, I thought after putting the Brown sugar and pecans on top of the batter and putting it in the oven that I was absolutely going to hate this cake. First. the only addition that I added to this cake was Lemon Pudding Mix in the Cake mix. There are many versions of this cake and this one I chose to make. IT WAS AWESOME! I thought I had died and gone to heaven. When I made the glaze for the top of the cake, I was sure this cake was not going to work. But I was very wrong. This cake looks really sweet. But it truly is NOT. The glaze melts the brown sugar in the cake. I also poked holes in the cake before I spread the glaze on top of the still warm cake! I brought this to work the next day and they ate it up! I will make this recipe again. Just Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Someone gave me a recipe for this cake and I couldn't find it anymore. This one did the trick. Always a big hit, didn't last long at my house. Will make again. I ran out of milk, and used apple juice and juice from fruit cocktail for about half the liquid...gave it an interesting, extra-fruity flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
WONDERFUL!!!! My whole family loved this cake!! I omitted the coconut (didnt have any). When I mixed the fruit,eggs and cake mix all my fruit got blended up. I wanted fruit in the cake so I added a drained can after I put the batter in the pan. I omitted the butter,sugar coconut glaze, frosted with whipped topping and sprinkled more nuts on top. This cake will be baked at my house many many more times!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANBRENNASMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Delicious and easy. The only thing I think I would do is double the sauce at the end next time to get more glaze. But perfect nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is an awesome recipe, the family ate it up and requested another one. I substituted coconut milk since I was out of evaporated milk and it was still awesome. This moist, fruity and yummy cake is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Mmmmm. Someone made this for our craft group last week, I loved it and found the recipe on this site. They served it with the whipped topping and it seemed far too sweet (I have a sweet tooth) and it seemed to take away from the cake, so I left that off. My husband is a chocolate cake man and loved the taste of this. I did not have any evaporated milk and had to make my own by reducing down a 1 1/4 cup of milk to a 1/2 cup and I guess that worked because the cake turned out great. I probably would not have tried this combination of ingredients had I not tried the finished product ahead of time. They make for a tasty, moist, rich cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent..ugly but excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good. Recipe as is except I was out of evaporated milk and I used regular milk, came out great. We did not use the glaze on top, we ate it plain and it was great, sweet enough from the brown sugar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States