Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This cake is EXTREMELY simple and is delicious! My whole family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Very Moist and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Piffard, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Someone gave me a recipe for this cake and I couldn't find it anymore. This one did the trick. Always a big hit, didn't last long at my house. Will make again. I ran out of milk, and used apple juice and juice from fruit cocktail for about half the liquid...gave it an interesting, extra-fruity flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
WONDERFUL!!!! My whole family loved this cake!! I omitted the coconut (didnt have any). When I mixed the fruit,eggs and cake mix all my fruit got blended up. I wanted fruit in the cake so I added a drained can after I put the batter in the pan. I omitted the butter,sugar coconut glaze, frosted with whipped topping and sprinkled more nuts on top. This cake will be baked at my house many many more times!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANBRENNASMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Delicious and easy. The only thing I think I would do is double the sauce at the end next time to get more glaze. But perfect nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is an awesome recipe, the family ate it up and requested another one. I substituted coconut milk since I was out of evaporated milk and it was still awesome. This moist, fruity and yummy cake is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Sooo good! Everyone had seconds! All I had was "light" fruit cocktail in a can, and it still was awesome. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Mmmmm. Someone made this for our craft group last week, I loved it and found the recipe on this site. They served it with the whipped topping and it seemed far too sweet (I have a sweet tooth) and it seemed to take away from the cake, so I left that off. My husband is a chocolate cake man and loved the taste of this. I did not have any evaporated milk and had to make my own by reducing down a 1 1/4 cup of milk to a 1/2 cup and I guess that worked because the cake turned out great. I probably would not have tried this combination of ingredients had I not tried the finished product ahead of time. They make for a tasty, moist, rich cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent..ugly but excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was really good. I liked the topping but will leave the walnuts out next time, just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States