Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This cake is the most delicious and moist cake you can find. It is also a nice change to the typical fosted cake. I was afraid it would not be sweet enough with out frosting...but was I wrong! This is a killer cake. I think my husband and I ate 1/2 of it the first night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Awesome recipe! Something different and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I made this cake yesterday and it is delicious. I poked holes in the top after it was done and poured the glaze over it. After an hour or so, it was bliss! I preferred eating it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodathechoda

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poy Sippi, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was my 1st time making this cake and it was well worth it! It was so easy and a big hit at my house. My personal opinion is, the cake is better the 2nd day. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shl30643

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
When I was making this cake, I thought after putting the Brown sugar and pecans on top of the batter and putting it in the oven that I was absolutely going to hate this cake. First. the only addition that I added to this cake was Lemon Pudding Mix in the Cake mix. There are many versions of this cake and this one I chose to make. IT WAS AWESOME! I thought I had died and gone to heaven. When I made the glaze for the top of the cake, I was sure this cake was not going to work. But I was very wrong. This cake looks really sweet. But it truly is NOT. The glaze melts the brown sugar in the cake. I also poked holes in the cake before I spread the glaze on top of the still warm cake! I brought this to work the next day and they ate it up! I will make this recipe again. Just Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very good. Recipe as is except I was out of evaporated milk and I used regular milk, came out great. We did not use the glaze on top, we ate it plain and it was great, sweet enough from the brown sugar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
THIS RECIPE IS EASY AND DELICIOUS. I HAVE MADE IT FOR MY FRIENDS AT WORK AND EVERYONE LOVES IT. I CHOOSE MAKE ONLY HALF OF THE GLAZE. I USE FRUIT COCKTAIL IN LIGHT SAUCE OR JUICE. I ALWAYS ADD WHIPPED CREAM FROSTING ON TOP! IF YOU HAVE A LUNCHEON, SHOWER OR PARTY TO GO TO THIS IS THE CAKE TO BRING! ENJOY OH AND IT'S SUPER MOIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
very easy to make, cake was moist which makes it hard to cut. I used a tropical fruit cocktail so cake as a nice color since it has papaya, I also added 2 tsp of rum extract to the white cake mix I used, but can still taste the cake box smell which was very strong. I find it a bit sweet for the cake alone. Did not make the topping, that would make the cake way too sweet. Overall, easy to throw together for a potuluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was really good. I liked the topping but will leave the walnuts out next time, just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent..ugly but excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States