Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Tastes good but way too much sugar for me. I used the Splenda sweetened fruit cocktail but it was still too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This cake is Wonderful. I have made it now with differant cake mixes,,,the yellow, lemon, pineapple & white as the base. All work out nicely. I wanted a bit more fruit so I added in a small can of drained pineapple as well as the fruit cocktail. Yum... Also... I increased the topping (Brown sugar & nut's) to 2/3 cup, each. ( It's dessert, RIGHT !!! ) This is a cake worth being called a dessert. Very refreshing from the chocolate and other 'regular' cakes. Make this cake and I Promise that you WILL be asked for this recipe. Also I have served this alone, with vanilla ice cream, (my favorite) as well as with more chilled fruit. Thanks for this recipe. I'm already passing it along...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I loved it! So light n floofy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Wow! I gotta say I was scared about this recipe thought I wouldn't like it but it is so good. And my kids loved it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is the best cake that I have had in a long time. It stays moist for days. I used pecans instead of walnuts , but followed the rest of the recipe as is. I really had my doubts when I poured the milk mixture over the top, but it worked out perfectly. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The name is misleading, since this cake was so tasty. It was a big hit with all our tasters. Our Guest Chef, Alice thought it was easy to make, despite one egg getting away from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This cake was even better the second day. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used 1 cup of 2% and boiled it to reduce it by half, leaving me with 1/2 cup. It turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
this is pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This cake is surprisingly good! I didn't bother with the frosting, brown sugar or nuts, and we all enjoyed it very much. So easy and tasty, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This cake is the most delicious and moist cake you can find. It is also a nice change to the typical fosted cake. I was afraid it would not be sweet enough with out frosting...but was I wrong! This is a killer cake. I think my husband and I ate 1/2 of it the first night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States