Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I have made this before with great results, but I happened to have a DH Coconut Supreme cake mix on hand, and wow was that wonderful in this recipe! I cut down quite a bit on the added coconut, and used a little Coconut-Pecan frosting (heated and drizzled) on top. The family loves it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Tastes good but way too much sugar for me. I used the Splenda sweetened fruit cocktail but it was still too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This cake is Wonderful. I have made it now with differant cake mixes,,,the yellow, lemon, pineapple & white as the base. All work out nicely. I wanted a bit more fruit so I added in a small can of drained pineapple as well as the fruit cocktail. Yum... Also... I increased the topping (Brown sugar & nut's) to 2/3 cup, each. ( It's dessert, RIGHT !!! ) This is a cake worth being called a dessert. Very refreshing from the chocolate and other 'regular' cakes. Make this cake and I Promise that you WILL be asked for this recipe. Also I have served this alone, with vanilla ice cream, (my favorite) as well as with more chilled fruit. Thanks for this recipe. I'm already passing it along...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I loved it! So light n floofy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Wow! I gotta say I was scared about this recipe thought I wouldn't like it but it is so good. And my kids loved it. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is the best cake that I have had in a long time. It stays moist for days. I used pecans instead of walnuts , but followed the rest of the recipe as is. I really had my doubts when I poured the milk mixture over the top, but it worked out perfectly. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
The name is misleading, since this cake was so tasty. It was a big hit with all our tasters. Our Guest Chef, Alice thought it was easy to make, despite one egg getting away from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This cake was even better the second day. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used 1 cup of 2% and boiled it to reduce it by half, leaving me with 1/2 cup. It turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
this is pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This cake is surprisingly good! I didn't bother with the frosting, brown sugar or nuts, and we all enjoyed it very much. So easy and tasty, I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States