Ugly Duckling Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My 8 year old cooking fiend son and I made this for a church potluck..it was easy and fun! Kids love recipes with crazy names! We subbed peaches for the fruit cocktail, based on the pantry inventory, and threw in a chopped banana too! We also poked holes in the top with a wooden spoon handle when it came out of the oven(this is too fun to skip!) and the topping melted in perfectly! This can be eaten hot/cold/ and my gang loved it with icecream, though isn't everything better with icecream?! It was easy, fun and tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I omitted the coconut because hubby doesn't like it, and substituted a 16 oz can of pineapple tidbits for the fruit cocktail. The cake turned out great! Everyone raved about it. Served it warm, with vanilla ice cream. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is really really good. I had a BBQ and everyone really liked it. My husband even had some the next day. While I was trying to give it all away so I didnt eat anymore. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Delicious! I made it twice in one weekend and it went over well for both events! Super moist. I used Fat Free Evaporated milk and "lite" fruit cocktail in pear juice concentrate and it turned out perfect. My husband LOVED it! A new favorite in our house ;-) Will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&K's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was easy to make! And very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
you wouldnt think all these ingredints would work together, but they do. I took this to a family gathering and everyone loved it. It is moist and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Omit the sugar topping before putting in the oven. Way too sweet, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I have made this before with great results, but I happened to have a DH Coconut Supreme cake mix on hand, and wow was that wonderful in this recipe! I cut down quite a bit on the added coconut, and used a little Coconut-Pecan frosting (heated and drizzled) on top. The family loves it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Tastes good but way too much sugar for me. I used the Splenda sweetened fruit cocktail but it was still too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This cake is Wonderful. I have made it now with differant cake mixes,,,the yellow, lemon, pineapple & white as the base. All work out nicely. I wanted a bit more fruit so I added in a small can of drained pineapple as well as the fruit cocktail. Yum... Also... I increased the topping (Brown sugar & nut's) to 2/3 cup, each. ( It's dessert, RIGHT !!! ) This is a cake worth being called a dessert. Very refreshing from the chocolate and other 'regular' cakes. Make this cake and I Promise that you WILL be asked for this recipe. Also I have served this alone, with vanilla ice cream, (my favorite) as well as with more chilled fruit. Thanks for this recipe. I'm already passing it along...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States