Udon Peanut Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
DELICIOUS! I substituted sesame oil for the chile oil and used Sriracha hot chile sauce to finish for heat. The amount of sauce for the udon noodles was a little short. Next time I will make 1 1/2 times the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is really good and super easy for a weeknight dinner! I followed the recipe as written, except I doubled the recipe, used the juice from the rotisserie chicken in place of 1/2 the broth, and added a little sesame oil. Not too spicy - heat lovers may want to add crushed red pepper like my guys did, but I ate it as is and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Made a few changes: subbed fried tofu for chicken, fresh udon instead of dried, no peanuts or cilantro, and added a bit more peanut butter to the sauce. It was very tasty and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutley delicious! My local co-op has a deli item like this that I wanted to recreate at home. I loved being able to add lots of veggies. I sauteed red pepper, pea pods and green onion in a little sesame oil to crisp-tender before adding at the end. Also, chunky pb did the trick and I didn't need additional peanuts. I think I will reduce the ginger to 1 TBSP next time. I didn't use chicken...marinated tofu would be great in this, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I received rave reviews from family and friends and it's so quick and easy to make! I use a nice big pan and mix everything (except toppings) into the sauce in the pan. Add a little extra stock if it's too dry. To save time, I doubled the peanut butter (crunchy, natural peanut butter from the health shop) and left out the peanuts at the end, as recommended by some reviewers. 2 handfuls of snow peas, rinsed in boiling water and cut into strips, make a delicious addition. If you don't have a roast chicken, use 4 chicken breasts - fry in the pan before making the sauce, remove, slice and add at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
lovely! my boyfriend and i ate it right up! i poached 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and shredded them in place of rotisserie chicken. Also, used a little sesame oil and about a tablespoon of crushed red pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was actually pretty good. I did not have fresh ginger, so I substituted powdered ginger instead. I also used minced garlic (out of a jar) for a quicker recipe. This was quick, yummy, and delicious. The only thing I will do different next time is use less soy sauce. It came out kind of salty. Only my opinion though. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I first want to say that I didn't have all the ingredients so that could be part of why I only gave it 4 stars. I used chicken breast. I boiled the breast than shredded... taste great. I do not like honey so I left that out. I didn't have red peppers which I think if I did this recipe might have been 5 stars. I added carrots which turned out good. If I make this again I will add carrots along with the red bell pepper. I only had dried cilantro which I couldn't even taste so next time I will make sure to have fresh cilantro. I had hot chili oil which gave it a nice kick. I saw a similar recipe that added a splash of lime just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
What can I say except that I LOVED this dish!!! We only have one grocery store and, unfortunately, I couldn't find chili oil so didn't add it. I also didn't add the chicken but, I imagine this would be fantastic with prawns too. Thank you for sharing this recipe as we will definitely be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
For my first udon noodle recipe this was pretty tasty. I increased the number of noodles by a few ounces because that was the package size they had. The sauce turned out very good. However, the red bell pepper should probably just be chopped; I told my helping fiance 'thinly sliced' and though they were thin, the resulting pieces were a little awkward to eat with noodles. I didn't have fresh cilantro so I had to use dried. Also, I used chunky PB instead of add peanuts, but if you already have some peanuts on hand they'd probably make for better texture variety. I will make this again but probably not for a while. I used 3 chicken breasts (shredded) instead of a rotisserie but still ended up with so much leftover. Next time I will try to stick more closely to the 9oz of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States