Uber-Braten Kielbasa and Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious! I used light velveeta in place of the cheddar b/c I have better luck w/ melting it. I also cooked the kielbasa a bit in a pan to get out any liquid and to just cook it through. I rinsed my sauerkraut b/c I don't care for a strong sour taste, so I did need to add a bit of salt to compensate for that. This is serious comfort food, and I will def be making it again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now, but modifying the recipe and ingredients somewhat. The 1st time I made this, I used about 8 oz. of regular wide noodles (not Kluski noodles though), and using 1-1/2 cups of sauerkraut (but used bavarian sauerkraut, as that's what I had on hand), plus I added 1 teaspoon each of garlic powder and onion powder to the flour and other spices. The 2nd time I made this, I used 7 oz. of wide noodles, along with the 2 cups of sauerkraut, plus the teaspoon each of garlic powder and onion powder to the flour and other spices. Fixed both ways was good, but while I preferred the less sauerkraut and 8 oz. of noodles, my husband prefered this dish with the 2 cups of kraut with the 7 ounces of noodles. Also... I prepared the sauce in a 3 quart saucepan, and adding 1 cup of cheese to it, then stirred in the cubed sausage and kraut, and added it to a greased casserole baking dish, plus stirred in the cooked noodles as well. Topped the casserole with a mixture of 4 tablespoons of plain dried bread crumbs mixed with 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and baked it in the oven for 25 minutes. This made 6 delicious servings! If you love kraut, you'll love this main dish! One more thing... instead of Kielbasa, I used ECKRICH Skinless Smoked Sausage (a 14-oz. package). This is a great recipe! I could eat this at least once a month. Also, this recipe definitely deserves more than 5 stars, as that's how good it is. This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I used mild cheddar and may use sharp next time just to give it a little extra. I also used 2 cups of cheese and couldn't find the suggested noodles so used bucatini noodles. I mixed everything together in the caserole dish and popped it in the oven. Will definitely make again and again. Big hit with hubby & teenagers. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was a great recipe. My husband and I enjoy sauerkraut and keilbasa so this tasted great. My son enjoys keilbasa and ate some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I am a former military dependent who spent over 7 years in Germany some of my fondest memories was of the food. I was looking for a quick authentic style of dish to make for my family. THIS one was perfect. I loved it they loved it and want me to make it again and again. I love authenticity of it and how easy and inexpensive it is to make. Anyone who who vairies from this recipe, in my opinion is not looking for authentic German Style food. Thank You for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made this with swiss cheese instead of cheddar. Browned the sausage a little, used a 32oz jar of kraut, and 16oz of noodles. Very easy to put together and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Made it as described in the instructions. Nice and creamy, induced warm and fuzzy feelings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used homemade spaezle instead of noodles for the pasta and it was a good substitution. I'm not sure how it will be heated up but it was worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Used just plan egg noodles as that is what I had on hand. I made just as stated but the sauce just didn't seem cheesy enough, I had to almost double it. I also added more than 2 cups of kraut just to use the whole can. I felt that was a bit much but my hunny had thirds and told me to add just as much next time. really warm comfy feeling well eating it. Now time for a nap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Not that great... thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States