Ube-Macapuno Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love purple yams and was looking for a purple yam cake recipe after I tried it at a birthday party, and wow! I love this recipe! I made them into cupcakes and baked them for 13 minutes. So delicious, moist, and fluffy. I added the 1/2 cup of macapuno to the frosting (and used condensed milk instead of evaporated milk) and it was great (although very very sweet). I also didn't add color to the frosting because white was a nice contrast. I also had to double the food coloring in the cake batter because it wasn't purple enough (was grayish). This cake was a lot of work but well worth it, I LOVE it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacqueline T
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
this is a great cake! i made it for a friend's bday and everybody loved it. though i did make revisions as follows: 1. it says bake 30 to 35 minutes, but i only baked it for 25 minutes. The result is that it was moist and not dry as some of the other reviewers said. 2. I made my own coconut buttercream icing using 2 cups butter, 1 cup sugar, and about half a cup of pureed macapuno. I placed the buttercream on top of each layer then the macapuno. Then covered the whole cake. the buttercream keeps the moisture of the cake in. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this cake for christmas eve dinner. I didn't make it a three layer cake. I used a spring form pan and just cooked it for 55min. the butter frosting for some reason just didn't work for me so i mad my own butter frosting. I served very small slices so as to not kill any one.lol(all the eggs and butter) But my family loved it. Would make it again if i was doing a philipino theme dinner again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I have to say one thing. Ube is one of those foreign dishes that is difficult to appreciate. You either have to be very open minded or have a native filipino tongue (assuming all native filipinos have eaten ube one time or other in their lifetime) to really enjoy this dish and appreciate ube for what it is. Thank you for providing this recipe to allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I used ube powder instead of grated ube and added 1/4 cup more milk to the mixture because of it. The cake turned out great and it tasted good too. I didn't use the frosting included with this recipe, though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was my first sponge cake. I decided to use the batter to make a roll. It was light, moist and spongy. Perfect batter. I sifted flour first, then measured. I added shredded coconut on top and coconut extract to frosting. I used 1/2 the liquid in the frosting and had to add more sugar. I also used frozen taro puree that I picked up in my local Asian market to save time. My entire family loved this cake! The only thing that needed improvement was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this yesterday for our family dinner every body loves it.The color is beautiful and the cake is moist and delicious.I couldn't find yam so i mashed some sweet potato added some yam paste and yam flavour which i also used as my filling because i couldn't find macapuno here(Malaysia).Thanks a lot for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
After reading several other reviews and following my own gut I made couple changes on this recipe. For one, I added extra food coloring to get a vibrant color. I used about 3 tsp of each red and blue. I also mixed the ingredients slightly different, I added the salt into the egg whites to make them stiff and fluffy. I did not add anything else to the egg whites and added the rest to the batter. I also beat the batter as minimal as possible, just enough to get everything incorporated since this seemed to make the cake dry. I also decided to make cupcakes because I wanted small portions, this made 24 cupcakes exactly and took 20 minutes to cook. I topped with a coconut cream cheese frosting and shredded coconut. I took them to work and set them in the break room, they were gone by lunch and went over well:) People seemed to like the exotic food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I am half Phillipino and so I guess thats why I liked this cake better than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this into cup cakes. It was a hit. Don't chill the milk, it will curd the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States