Ube-Macapuno Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
the cake was dry, i do a lot of baking, the recipe is just like a chiffon cake minus the corn syrup and ube. i'm sorry just was disappointed, esp. on the icing. i should have followed my instinct that the ing. should not be equal volumes. i ended doing another batch of butter icing the proper one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Note: Ube (pronounced "OOH-bee") is also available in a jar, precooked and mashed. It can also be found in a packet in the frozen section. Many Asian stores sell either form of ube. Sometimes its labeled as "ube" or "purple yam".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love purple yams and was looking for a purple yam cake recipe after I tried it at a birthday party, and wow! I love this recipe! I made them into cupcakes and baked them for 13 minutes. So delicious, moist, and fluffy. I added the 1/2 cup of macapuno to the frosting (and used condensed milk instead of evaporated milk) and it was great (although very very sweet). I also didn't add color to the frosting because white was a nice contrast. I also had to double the food coloring in the cake batter because it wasn't purple enough (was grayish). This cake was a lot of work but well worth it, I LOVE it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe was good, but still not the ube cake recipe I was looking for. I actually cut this recipe in half and did them in cupcake form, and reduced the baking time to 15 minutes. I took the advice of others and I didn't even bother with the butter icing recipe given. Instead I did my own buttercream icing and I added shredded coconut to it. It gave the icing a nice texture and great flavour to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
NOTE: Use condensed milk instead of the evaporated and the icing will turn out. If you don't beat the batter too long the cake is not dry and doesn't crack. This was a work of love to make as is any from scratch recipe. Yes, I am a filipina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
cake was a little dry. making the batter was ok.but the butter icing did not work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I have to say one thing. Ube is one of those foreign dishes that is difficult to appreciate. You either have to be very open minded or have a native filipino tongue (assuming all native filipinos have eaten ube one time or other in their lifetime) to really enjoy this dish and appreciate ube for what it is. Thank you for providing this recipe to allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I tried the recipe and followed it word for word. The cake was dry and it was too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this cake for christmas eve dinner. I didn't make it a three layer cake. I used a spring form pan and just cooked it for 55min. the butter frosting for some reason just didn't work for me so i mad my own butter frosting. I served very small slices so as to not kill any one.lol(all the eggs and butter) But my family loved it. Would make it again if i was doing a philipino theme dinner again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States