Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I tweaked this recipe based on a wonderful reccomendation from woman in Santorini, Greece. Directions & ingredients are the same, just adjusted the amounts. You MUST drain the yogurt for 5-6 hours or overnight. English cucumber is not necessary, as you can use a regular large cucumber, peel, cut into quarters & use spoon to remove seeds, then shread w/ cheese grater. Shred cuke over a lint free tea towel, grab the ends of the towel together, twist and squeeze out the water. 2 large cloves garlic is plenty & I am a garlic lover. Will be too over powering w/ 5 cloves, already tried it on the first batch. 1 TBSP distilled white vinegar. 5 TBSP extra virgin olive oil. 1/2 tsp sea salt or to taste. I even received rave reviews from my Greek Father-In-Law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Do drain your yogurt and squeeze the excess water from your cuke! I drain yogurt by using a strainer with a paper coffee filter in it, let it sit for awhile, and the water strains out easily. Squeezed the excess water from the cuke by pushing it with my fist into a colander. Did use lemon juice rather than white vinegar (personal preference) and a bit less garlic. Served with fresh pita and chicken souvlaki with zucchini. Thank you, Teina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Very good! I served this at a dinner party with warm pita bread. It was a hit! Food processor made this appetizer easy. If you buy a low-water content yogurt, you don't need to drain over cheesecloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Delish! I used 32 oz fat-free yogurt drained in colander on coffee filters overnight (you'd be surprised how much liquid drains off). 2 small cucumbers peeled, quartered, seeded then chopped fine (I salted then placed between paper towels weighted with plates for an hour). Grated 5 cloves of garlic (makes it VERY garlicky - might cut back if you're not a fan) 1 TBS lemon juice, 1 TBS vinegar, 3 TBS olive oil and a sprinkle of sugar and lemon zest. It came out excellent! I've made it without draining and the flavor is somewhat different and the consistency is more salad-dressing like. I much prefer it this way. Great as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is an absolute staple at our house. It's definitely better on day two. I don't drain my yogurt, but I do shred the cucumber into a cheese cloth, and squeeze out as much of the liquid as I can, and it seems quite thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Very good. I also seeded the cucumber and added a pinch of dill(some people use mint instead). First time I made this I bought fat free yogurt by mistake. DO NOT ever do this. I could not drain liquid out and it tasted WAY too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This is a little chunkier than I expected it would turn out to be, but over all very good! I served it to a bunch at my party with raw vegetables and at least two asked for the recipe. Many liked it but couldn't identify what was in it, which made it fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Every bit as good as we get from our local Greek restuarant. I used fat free yogurt for health reasons, but it does make a difference in the texture. I also did not drain the yogurt as I didn't have time. I did pour of the liquid sitting on top though. I also used a seeded regular cucumber rather than English because it was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Excellent and very refreshing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
very tasty! just like what we had at our favorite authentic greek restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States