Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great. Exactly how it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used homemade roasted garlic and I doubled the dill weed because I used dried instead of fresh. This is INCREDIBLE. I cannot stop eating it. NOTE: For homemade roasted garlic, what I do is peel the outer layers of the garlic bulb leaving the bulb intact, place the bulb in a smallish oven-safe bowl (or a 6-cup muffin tin if you do it in bulk, like I do) drizzle with EVOO and cover with aluminum foil. Then, just bake for a half hour or so until the cloves are softened. Wa-la, roasted garlic. Also, if you do not have cheesecloth, you can drain your yogurt in layers of coffee filters in a colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for tzatziti. I have made it like this about 10 times. I will say I only use a clove of garlic. I dont know if he meant a head or clove but a clove is plenty for me. I only add a few tablespoons of olive oil depending on how long I have drained yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
So good! I did blend it through a blender because I thought shreds of cucumber in this would be weird...but the flavour is so good and so garlicky. Love it!!! First time I ever made tzatziki and now I know how easy and good it is.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
4 stars because of two things. I don't think most folks will appreciate a whole head of garlic in this or so much lemon. I mixed this with a 16 oz container thick "Greek" yogurt, 3 cloves crushed garlic sauteed in 1 tblsp Olive oil. 1 tsp fresh lemon juice, a sprinkle of dried oregano and 1/2 tsp of dry dill. I did twist my (seeded) grated cucumber in a tea towel (to get rid of excess moisture) before incorporating. Also a tsp of honey will tone down excessive tart flavor (matter of pref). A little ground sea salt & fresh pepper is all that's needed as well. Very good w/out so much garlic/oil/lemon juice. For me anyway :) Tastes better after storing overnight in fridge. I utilize my own homemade baked pita chips (use quality pita bread) to dip in this...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
this is the oringinal recipe of greek tzatziki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Greek yogurt which is now available in most grocery stores, eliminates the need for straining the yogurt. I used a high fat Cabot's brand. I added some chopped fresh dill as well. I used a cheese grater for shredding and a grapefruit spoon for the seeding. This was by far the best Tzatziki that I have ever eaten. It was very thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was great on gyros! Made a much smaller portion with a standard small plain yogurt and one cucumber. Skipped the dill. Added McCormick Greek Seasoning. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours beforehand. Used with chicken seasoned with the same Greek Seasoning in pitas w/feta, lett, tom, etc. Yum! This is my new staple recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Love this recipe...I always get compliments when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This recipe is great. I used greek yogurt so I didn't strain it. I did drain the cukes. But then I just mixed together all the ingredients - I didn't whisk. I popped it in the fridge for an hour or 2 before dinner and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States