Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used homemade roasted garlic and I doubled the dill weed because I used dried instead of fresh. This is INCREDIBLE. I cannot stop eating it. NOTE: For homemade roasted garlic, what I do is peel the outer layers of the garlic bulb leaving the bulb intact, place the bulb in a smallish oven-safe bowl (or a 6-cup muffin tin if you do it in bulk, like I do) drizzle with EVOO and cover with aluminum foil. Then, just bake for a half hour or so until the cloves are softened. Wa-la, roasted garlic. Also, if you do not have cheesecloth, you can drain your yogurt in layers of coffee filters in a colander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grifo
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe is GREAT I did the entire thing in the food processor started with the cucumber so I could remove and drain them and followed previous reviews reducing the garlic down to one clove. Good olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon juice are a must. A quick update, Greek style yogurt can be substituted for the drained yogurt it saves a LOT of time and is now available in most major supermarkets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This was awesome. It is a bit time consuming but only because you have to let the yougurt drain for a few hours. After that is ready, it's easy and very tasty. The recipe asked for lemon juice but the directions said vinegar. I just used the lemon juice. I dipped pita bread into it as a snack or appetizer, it's great. My Middle Eastern friend's family eats this frequently and he said mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is the first time I've tried making tzatziki, so I can't compare this to other similiar recipes. However, while I liked the dip, we were overwhelmed by the garlic even though I used much less than called for in the recipe. Let's just say that I had to avoid breathing on anyone for about 24 hours! Next time I'll use a single clove of garlic and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't have cucumber on hand, so threw in a spoonful of sweet relish. The other ingredients masked most of the flavor of that, but all in all turned out to be a very good homemade tzatziki. I didnt drain the yogurt, too time consuming, and diced a little onion (very fine) into it as well. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! I made 1/2 of a recipe to go with gyros I was making and we had plenty. I started out with Greek yogurt which I think is slightly thicker than regular yogurt. I only had time to drain it about 45 minutes. I shredded the cuc's and let them drain about 30 minutes. The recipe doesn't call for this step but I think it gave me a better result and I was concurrently waiting for the yogurt to drain. When I put it all together I was very happy with the consistency. It was the perfect thickness and tasted just like what is served in Greek restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This was pretty good, although I think vinegar was left out of the ingredients. It seems like there is a flavor missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I entertain frequently and this recipe was a big hit during our Olympic parties. Although time consuming, draining the yogurt really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Making a half recipe, I drained the 16 oz. of yogurt over night using a clean nylon stocking, and got nearly a cup of liquid out. Dry dill weed works well also. This is what I was hoping and looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was my first time making this, but I chose this recipe from the others because I thought it would be a better consistency and I'm not a fan of mint. It came out great. Just like my favorite greek restaurant. I'm making it again tonight. I think draining the yogurt is essential for the correct texture. By the way...I made it with low-fat yogurt and nobody could tell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States