Tzatziki VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This was awesome. It is a bit time consuming but only because you have to let the yougurt drain for a few hours. After that is ready, it's easy and very tasty. The recipe asked for lemon juice but the directions said vinegar. I just used the lemon juice. I dipped pita bread into it as a snack or appetizer, it's great. My Middle Eastern friend's family eats this frequently and he said mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This was pretty good, although I think vinegar was left out of the ingredients. It seems like there is a flavor missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I entertain frequently and this recipe was a big hit during our Olympic parties. Although time consuming, draining the yogurt really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is the first time I've tried making tzatziki, so I can't compare this to other similiar recipes. However, while I liked the dip, we were overwhelmed by the garlic even though I used much less than called for in the recipe. Let's just say that I had to avoid breathing on anyone for about 24 hours! Next time I'll use a single clove of garlic and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't have cucumber on hand, so threw in a spoonful of sweet relish. The other ingredients masked most of the flavor of that, but all in all turned out to be a very good homemade tzatziki. I didnt drain the yogurt, too time consuming, and diced a little onion (very fine) into it as well. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Delicious! Just like the sauce at a Greek restaurant. This was perfect paired with the Gyros Burgers recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this last night for a get together and everyone loved it. I was nervous the kids wouldn't like it, but they definetely did. I didn't put in as much garlic and put in more dill. Delish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Went perfect with the gyros that I made. My first time making it and it turned out just like I've had in restaurants. I used dried dill because it was all I had on hand, but still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! I made 1/2 of a recipe to go with gyros I was making and we had plenty. I started out with Greek yogurt which I think is slightly thicker than regular yogurt. I only had time to drain it about 45 minutes. I shredded the cuc's and let them drain about 30 minutes. The recipe doesn't call for this step but I think it gave me a better result and I was concurrently waiting for the yogurt to drain. When I put it all together I was very happy with the consistency. It was the perfect thickness and tasted just like what is served in Greek restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was my first time making this, but I chose this recipe from the others because I thought it would be a better consistency and I'm not a fan of mint. It came out great. Just like my favorite greek restaurant. I'm making it again tonight. I think draining the yogurt is essential for the correct texture. By the way...I made it with low-fat yogurt and nobody could tell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States