Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I don't know why I haven't tried making my own tzatziki before. How stinkin' easy! I basically halved this, so here are the quantities I used: 1 6 oz container plain Greek yogurt half of a cucumber, shredded and drained 1 tbsp OO 1/2 lemon 1 clove garlic I left out the dill, since everyone I've had never seemed to reek of dill (not a huge fan) and I thought it tasted pretty darn good. I actually think the garlic was a bit pungent (I grated it). But it is really a great, easy sauce to make. Used it as the dressing on a Greek salad (using the Greek Chicken Recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
So yummy drizzled on baba ganouj and sautéed ground lamb (add cinnamon, sautéed onion and garlic and fresh parsley, raisins, s and p) with feta, on toasted flatbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is so much better with Greek yogurt. You can make your own with regular plain yogurt by lining a funnel or (using a cone coffee funnel) with a coffee filter, adding plain yogurt and let sit overnight in "frig..it will be a little less than 16 oz, but will still work in this recipe. Great for toasted pita dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I love this! Peel, cut lengthwise and scrape out the seed of the cucumber. Then, then grate the cucumber and squeeze it in your hands over the sink taking out most of the water. Stir it into the yogurt. It may not be as thick as the Greek yogurt mixture. But, it's a lot faster and you'll like just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Excellent sauce- tastes just like the restaurant version. Had it with shish tawook wraps for dinner. Drained the yogurt while I chopped up the cukes, and it wasn't runny at all. Also made sure to cut out the seeds. I just combined the ingredients in a bowl with a whisk instead of dirtying the food processor, and that worked well. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
came out fantastic with plenty of flavor- added a little sour cream to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
To keep this from being runny you need to let the yogurt drain. I used Greek yogurt, put it in a collander and let the liquid drain out. Also, drain your cucumber well, chop it and place into a dishtowel and squeeze the liquid out. Then you can mix it and put it in the fridge. I like to do mine the night before, it gives it a lot of time to settle and permeate the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshG2385

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this, using more fresh garlic, and the chill makes the taste more intense, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe turned out really great! The differences I made were using two 6oz containers of plain Greek yogurt + 2 tbsp of sour cream and instead of the fresh dill (which I didn't have) I used a half tbsp of dried dill weed and instead of 3 cloves of garlic I just used one large one and it was plenty. Definitely make sure you get as much moisture out of the cucumbers as possible. I used a couple coffee filters to squeeze out what I could and then let it sit over a colander for a few hours. Another tip I found helpful was to fold in your yogurt LAST to avoid breaking it up. Lastly, letting it sit in the refrigerator really does make a difference in taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcadiaToo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
We thought this sauce was very tasty, although it was thinner than my DD remembered having it on restaurant made gyros. I think the thicker ones don't have cucumbers in the ingredients. I served it on pork souvlaki in a pita. The tzatziki sauce really enhanced the pork to make a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaToo
Home Town: Cedar Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States