Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
For those who followed the recipe like I did and ended-up with cold soup, do not throw it out. Here is rescue 101: 1. Make a slurry with small amount of the runny tzatziki and 3 tbls corn starch. 2. Add slurry to the rest of the tzatziki and slowly bring to a boil over medium heat while constantly whisking. 3.You will see the tzatziki start to thicken - remove from heat at desired consistency and refrigerate. 4. Never use this recipe again. *Note - the Tzatziki will not be restaurant quality, but it is passable and a quick rescue solution for your Tzatziki soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Grated the cucumber and strained all the excess liquid out, I used non-fat Greek yogurt which I also strained. Added dried dill instead of fresh dill because it was all I had. The flavors are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Delish... used Greek Yogurt and dried dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I read the reviews about it being runny so I cut the cucumber, salted it, and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I took a few tbs of water out of the bowl the next day. I used greek yogurt as it is thicker than plain yogurt. It turned out way too runny. This recipe gets a a major thumbs down from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This tasted great, but was a bit runny. It was fine until I added the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I, too, had an issue with this coming out runny. I will definitely strain the yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe and it turned out fantastic! Some of us (like me) get urges to make a recipe that should take hours to prepare, but we don't want to wait! (or we don't have enough time) SO this is what I did. I chopped the cucumber up very fine. (I didn't get rid of the seeds because I like that part, and I don't like to waste) I put it in a paper towel and squeezed out as much water as possible. (I did this step with a new paper towel a few times) then I salted the cucumber and let it sit for about 5 mins. Opened my greek yogurt and drained off the liquid on the top. Mixed in the cucumber and a little minced garlic with just a few splashes of lemon juice. My recipe was fantastic and not runny at all :D thanks for the recipe. I will make this again for sure! ** I skipped the oil because it's just not needed**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried the various techniques to make this the right consistency (straining the yogurt, chopping and salting the cucumbers to release the extra moisture). Nothing seemed to help. It was way too cucumbery and nothing like Tzatziki I've eaten elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as is, with Greek yogurt...and did not like it. It sure did not like my fave Greek restauant's. Not wanting to give up, I read Mrs Summer's review (thank you!) and made it again with sour cream and love it! Now it is close to the restaurant version I think. Also, I pureed the dukes first alone (after letting them drain a bit) and poured off the excess water, then added the other ingredients ....and then just folded in the sour cream. The texture is great, wasn't "runny" at all. Thank u to everyone for all the tips, that sure helps a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
loved it! light and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States