Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
So tasty! But if you (like me) were in a hurry and didn't read the reviews BEFORE you made this sauce, you also ended up with a delicious, but very runny, sauce. Here's your bail: line a large strainer with a paper towel or coffee filter, pour the tzatziki in and let it drain until it's the consistency you want. Maybe not the best way of doing things, but better than tossing it! I would give it 5 stars if the recipe included the information about draining the yogurt and the cucumbers. I will eat it on everything I can dip in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This recipe is very tasty. I was able to thicken this sauce by first straining the yogurt through cheese cloth (2 hrs. at least). I also did the same with the cucumbers after turning them into a paste with a food processor. For 2 cucumbers strained through cheese cloth, about 16 oz. of liquid was removed! Save the liquid for juice drinks or freeze into ice cubes & add to a glass of water for a refreshing summer drink! I've also added feta cheese to the blended Tzatziki as a variation. Also thickens it, adds more flavor and of course more calories & salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I would have gave it 5 stars, but I did not drain the yogurt. Using the advice above, I chose to just use choboni greek yogurt, but although the taste was great, I didn't get the consistency I wanted. The only thing I would change and give it a 5th star would be to drain the Yogurt overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Mine came out water-thin and unusable. I double checked to make sure I had gotten everything right, but I can't find where I could have gone wrong. Will start with Greek yogurt and a different recipe next time, but for tonight I will have to make other dinner plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this is excellent -- as of tonight I will no longer be traveling 25 miles for some of this - done as recipe stated .. ty (greek yogurt used)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
So good. I use dried dill and it still comes out delicious. You can use it as a dressing too for a simple salad of cucumber, orange bell, lettuce etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I really liked this recipe, the taste of my sauce is pretty accurate. The only problem is that there is no indication of what is assumed as the size of the cucumber. Some cucumbers are 3 times others, I just used common sense (assumed the cucumber here is the small ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
First try at making this sauce and this tasted great! I took other suggestions and minced the cucumbers in my food processor and drained them overnight. I don't have cheesecloth, I used coffee filters and worked just as well. I also used Greek yogurt and drained that overnight since the cucumbers were draining anyway. Threw it all in the food processor the next day and was so surprised at how thick the sauce was. This was a great recipe that I can't wait to make for a potluck or home gathering! Thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I was excited to try it, bought all ingredients. Followed all directions, even strained cues. I was very disappointed. Will never make this again. And I love the sauce in gyros, thats why I tried it.Don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I LOVED this. I've tried many, but this is THE ONE. I made Traditional Gyro Meat from this site and it was the best gyro ever. I'll use this for gyros and dip for pita chips and veggies. I used greek yogurt and I recommend that instead of regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberkaye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States