Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
To keep this from being runny you need to let the yogurt drain. I used Greek yogurt, put it in a collander and let the liquid drain out. Also, drain your cucumber well, chop it and place into a dishtowel and squeeze the liquid out. Then you can mix it and put it in the fridge. I like to do mine the night before, it gives it a lot of time to settle and permeate the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshG2385

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this, using more fresh garlic, and the chill makes the taste more intense, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe turned out really great! The differences I made were using two 6oz containers of plain Greek yogurt + 2 tbsp of sour cream and instead of the fresh dill (which I didn't have) I used a half tbsp of dried dill weed and instead of 3 cloves of garlic I just used one large one and it was plenty. Definitely make sure you get as much moisture out of the cucumbers as possible. I used a couple coffee filters to squeeze out what I could and then let it sit over a colander for a few hours. Another tip I found helpful was to fold in your yogurt LAST to avoid breaking it up. Lastly, letting it sit in the refrigerator really does make a difference in taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcadiaToo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
We thought this sauce was very tasty, although it was thinner than my DD remembered having it on restaurant made gyros. I think the thicker ones don't have cucumbers in the ingredients. I served it on pork souvlaki in a pita. The tzatziki sauce really enhanced the pork to make a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaToo
Home Town: Cedar Brook, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
drained yogurt over fine metal strainer for 1 hr and shredded/squeezed out cucumbers -- fantastic! my lebanese husband gave it 11 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
An excellent sauce! I followed some of the advice & drained the yogurt for several hours before adding the other ingredients, and chopped the cucumbers with a hand chopper instead of putting them in a food processor. Very, very good & I'd most definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Followed directions best I could, but it was VERY soupy. Next time I'm adding 1/3 of a small to med cucumber only...I think this recipe should state size of cucumbers or after chopped how much by the cup. The taste was ok, but was looking for a creamy, authentic recipe. Bit disappointed in this one~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Tasty!!!! I did use greek yogurt and extra an extra clove of garlic(my family loves garlic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle97

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Amazing recipe, tastes completely authentic! Can not recommend this more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I would definately have to say that the recipe as written is way too watery. Not a bad taste to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States