Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Tzatziki too watery? You looked quickly at the recipe without reading the critical reviews cautioning you to drain the yogurt and the cucumber first..no problem, mate. I am a canner and have a product necessary for producing perfect jels and canned products from my produce--two types of clear jel: instant, which you add to uncooked products, as in the tzatziki, and regular which is added to cooked foods. Clear jel acts like cornstarch, or arrowroot without an aftertaste and is perfect for the too watery oops moment. I purchase mine from www.barryfarms.com. Pectin is similar but used in jams, preserves as it binds to sugar. You'll like clear jel for its many applications of fixing cooking mishaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Simple. Easy. Delicious. I use this as a condiment on grilled lamb burgers, with some sliced tomato and red onion, and lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It was a runny mess and did not taste like it should, tried with greek yogurt and normal yogurt- still runny and lacked in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by An Me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I make this and use it to eat with baked or pan fried chicken breast. It's a great replacement for gravy and if you use greek seasonings on the chicken, it's even better. I mix by hand and the cucumber should be trimmed away from the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Grady-Hilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I blended up the cucumber and garlic together in a baby food processor. Then I strained it and squished all the water out. I added this strained pulp to the rest of the ingredients. It wasn't runny and tasted so good with the "Easiest Falafel Recipe" with greens on naan bread. Restaurant quality taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious, and easy to make. I drained my yogurt for a little bit (maybe half an hour) and it was just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
When I did this recipe as posted it was very watery. This time I did it w 17.6 ounces of Greek plain yogurt with one cucumber and I didn't put it in a blender I mixed it by hand, I eyeballs the rest of the ingredients and it came out perfectly. I think bc the cucumber has so much water in it the blender bought it out and made the sauce runny. Doing it my way it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caparice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I used all there ingredients but I didn't blend it by machine like suggested. I peeled and removed the seeds of the cucumbers. Then I grated the cucumber with a box grater. Then I squeezed out the liquid by putting in a dish towel. Last I used whole milk Greek yogurt which is thick. It was a perfect sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this using only one cucumber, 2 small 5oz containers of Greek vanilla yogurt, 2cloves garlic Abt a tablespoon of lemon juice, half tablespoon of dried dill, and a pinch of salt and pepper. It tastes really good with chicken (I use it for wraps or as sauce to pour over chicken and rice bowls). If you want this sauce to be thick you need to chop the cucumber into little pieces, use a garlic press and fold the ingredients together by hand like one of th other reviewers mentioned. Dont put the yogurt in a food processor. It tastes better the longer you let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inspectorGadget
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States