Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Yummy! I used Greek-style non-fat yogurt instead of messing around with straining regular yogurt (Greek-style yogurt is already strained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
excellent, i did add a little dill in an attempt to copy a local greek place, and it turned out perfect. the longer you strain the yogurt the thicker sauce you will get. I had no cheesecloth so i had to improvise with a couple coffee filters taped over a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Freezing and then thawing the yogurt first makes it much faster to drain; I use a coffee filter over a strainer and it takes maybe an hour to drain--it comes out like thick Greek yogurt (even when I use nonfat yogurt). Also, I use an immersion blender instead of grating the cucumber and just blend it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made this to accompany my gyros tonight and it was really good. I omitted the mint and added about a tsp of minced onion. I also added about a 1/2 tbls. of sugar to cut the tang of the yogurt. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Thanks SO much for this recipe!! I can't believe how authentic it tastes. I couldn't find my cheesecloth anywhere so I took others advice to use three coffee filters and it worked perfectly draining only an hour. I also added garlic salt and onion powder although I'm sure it would be just as good without. I also skipped the cucumber draining and just pressed it between two paper towels, it was perfect! I let it sit in the refrigerator for two hours before dinner and my DH went crazy over this sauce on the turkey gyro recipe from this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
First time I ever tried something like this. I used 2 coffee filters instead of cheesecloth. I also used only 2 6oz containers of plain yogurt. I served it over the Souvlaki(from this site). It was all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This was AWESOME. I could have eaten it all by itself. I also like how the strained yogurt changes consistency. Really cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
YUMMY! I had to scale down on the ingredients, used 8oz in lieu of 16oz. Great sauce, used sauce on grilled lamb burger (on this site) K-E-E-P-E-R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I thought this was just OK. Straining the yogurt gave it a better consistency. But think it had too much mint, not enough garlic and needed dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was looking for a low-calorie alternative to mayo and this worked out great. I also did the coffee-filter thing and only drained an hour, plus omitted parsley and mint and it was still much tastier than the fat-free mayo they sell at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States