Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Thanks SO much for this recipe!! I can't believe how authentic it tastes. I couldn't find my cheesecloth anywhere so I took others advice to use three coffee filters and it worked perfectly draining only an hour. I also added garlic salt and onion powder although I'm sure it would be just as good without. I also skipped the cucumber draining and just pressed it between two paper towels, it was perfect! I let it sit in the refrigerator for two hours before dinner and my DH went crazy over this sauce on the turkey gyro recipe from this site!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
First time I ever tried something like this. I used 2 coffee filters instead of cheesecloth. I also used only 2 6oz containers of plain yogurt. I served it over the Souvlaki(from this site). It was all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great tzatziki, everyone loved it. Draining the yogurt first gives it a much better texture and easier to use as a dip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Freezing and then thawing the yogurt first makes it much faster to drain; I use a coffee filter over a strainer and it takes maybe an hour to drain--it comes out like thick Greek yogurt (even when I use nonfat yogurt). Also, I use an immersion blender instead of grating the cucumber and just blend it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
excellent, i did add a little dill in an attempt to copy a local greek place, and it turned out perfect. the longer you strain the yogurt the thicker sauce you will get. I had no cheesecloth so i had to improvise with a couple coffee filters taped over a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This was AWESOME. I could have eaten it all by itself. I also like how the strained yogurt changes consistency. Really cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Yum! This was fabulous. I added a small container of sour cream to thicken it, as I did not have a day to wait. Added a few extra calories, but it was SUPER creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I enjoyed the flavour of this recipe, however, I will be looking for "thicker" tzatziki sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was really good. I doubled the recipe because after the yogurt drains, it's almost half the original volume and people LOVE to pile this stuff on their pitas and sandwiches or use it as a dip. I was feeling a bit lazy the day I made this and used baby seedless cucumbers and didn't peel them: the baby cukes have a tender skin and I kinda liked the green color it adds so I'll probably do it that way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States