Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Exactly like the sauce from a restaurant! I added a little bit of honey to cut through the tang of the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Didn't strain yogurt over night but drained water out of it. Also, just squeezed water out of cucumber but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Exactly the Tzatziki Sauce flavor I was looking for! I added some dried dill, probably a little to much. Next time I will try without dill. Used as a salad dressing and side sauce for some pork chops I made marinated with the Souvlaki recipe from this site. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This tzatziki sauce recipe was very simple, but I made a few adaptations to it. I used flour sack towels with paper towels on the outside to drain the cucumber and doubled the amount of parsely for color. I served this on top of grilled chicken pitas and with pitas chips. My 3yo says she likes it better than McDonalds, which quite an accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
REALLY GOOD!!! However, I substituted the parsley & mint with Dill. I also used Greek yogurt, as you do not have to strain it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleTeteRouge
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Here's another vote for Greek style yogurt! Drained it in a coffee filter for @ an hour anyway. Doubled the garlic, too. Used coarsest side of box grater for cuke. Was wonderful, I put this on shredded leftover lamb shank from elsewhere on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I love this sauce!!! I had it at a local restaurant and had to learn to make it. Use the Greek yogurt and you won't have all the extra steps with straining it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kevil, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Barlow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Awesome!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wrote this recipe and love all the variations that everyone has tried. Honestly, have tried all of them myself. I do like DILL in the recipe and I'm loopy over fresh parsley. If you like that Middle-Eastern taste try it that way too. You can also substitute dry herbs if needed. Some people like the mint others don't- it's just personal preference. What's funny is when I wrote the recipe ALL RECIPES edited out to substitute coffee filters for cheese cloth. Everyone figured that out on their own! Cheese cloth is not a standard stock item in my pantry either. I take two filters in my small tupperware strainer and overlap them. When rushing I put a weight over the yogurt while it's draining (a can of soup) and it helps speed up the process. ALSO, as someone else suggested you can squeeze the water out of the cucumbers. I almost always do that after I peel, scoop out the seed prior to grating. I do prefer the greek yogurt that comes strained already - it is a HUGE time saver. If your local market doesn't have it, try a local health food store. For those that are budget conscious (if the Greek stuff isn't on sale) I use the Plain store brand yogurt and just drain it the night before. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morganville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Read all the reviews and took advice from a number. Used No Fat Greek yogurt, chopped the cucumber by hand and added 1/4 c each, dried parsley and dill. Also added 2 T dried onion, soaked in a little water, 5 crushed cloves and salt-garlic blend to taste. Added 2 tsp of sugar to win over my 3 young granddaughters as they only like the "mayo junk" dips. We served it on fish. The granddaughters loved it!! Told me, "Grandma, you rock!" Thanks for the great recipe and thanks for all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States