Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I have always thought I made a great gyros sauce, but after I made this recipe, I threw mine away. I don't know if it's the mint because no one else had it in the other recipes or the yogurt. This is the best gyros sauce I have ever tasted, including restaurants. I have made it so many times I have the recipe in my head. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Good sauce Brenda. I skipped on straining the yogurt and left out the garlic. I too think the mint made this really good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Very tasty. The only thing I will do next time I make it is I would use less garlic. Yummy was the response from the kids. The whole family liked it. Will definately serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Wonderful and very authentic (I have been to Greece, and frequent Greek restaurants where I live). I served this on pita bread with Souvlaki from this site. I would highly recommend using the cheese cloth to drain the yogurt, as well as using a strainer for the cucumber to press out the liquid; otherwise, the sauce will be runny. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This sauce was excellent on gyros! I just added 3 times as much pepper as called for....it was fabulous. And I can see dipping vegetables in the remaining sauce. Thanks Brenda for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I think the recipe called for WAY too much salt. Next time I will cut it in half, and I will also omit the pepper. I'm a big pepper fan, but somehow the flavor did not go with the Tzatziki I remember from my trip to Greece 2 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Superb. I made this with fresh mint, but I am eager to try out dill the next time. Draining the yogurt on cheesecloth is absolutely essential in achieving the correct texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I wish I could give this a 10!! It was awesome. I forgot to pick up cheesecloth so I had to improvise using a small strainer and bowl for the yougurt. It removed a good deal of the water. I can't stop eating this and it made my kitchen smell so yummy. I made this with Peppy's Pita Bread and Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs. I felt like I was at a greek restuarant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I reduced the salt and pepper, and also drained the cucumber separately for 30 minutes. An easy way to drain the yogurt is to line a strainer with a coffee filter, then put the yogurt in that. We served it with lamb in homemade pita bread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Excellent!! What can I say we loved it. I like it better than a lot of the sauces you get in restaurants even. I forgot to press moisture out of the cucumbers but it still turned out great and I did not drain the yogurt either. It kept well in the fridge and it disappeared quickly. No wastage here! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States