Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My Husband said this is the best sauce he ever had. And we live in NY where there's Greek restaurants near us everywhere. However, this tasted like the way the Russians make the Tzatziki Sauce, because I've had Russian versions of Gyros and those were the only ones that tasted just like it. I gave it 5 stars because even though i thought it was too spicy, my husband thought it was the best sauce he's had in his life. (I altered this recipe by muddling the garlic with a little olive oil-might have given it the strong flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very tasty. Used some extra garlic as I always do in our recipes! Made this with Jeanie's Falafel from the site and had an amazing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I definitly did not appreciate the lemon I added!!! Made it again without the lemon and the black pepper and it was fantastic. I also used greek yogurt that I didnt bother draining but squeezed the life out of my shredded cucumber. After it was all mixed up I realized I wouldnt appreciate it being chunky, so I ran it through my food processor until it was semi-smooth. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is great! I used dried mint, because I had it on hand, and used low-fat sourcream instead of yogurt. I had it with falafel, but it would be great as dip too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
As written it gets a four but add a squeeze or three of fresh lemon and this is a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was great! Very fresh tasting. I made it for friends and everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I saved a ton of time and effort by just starting off with Greek yogurt. I used Trader Joe's 0% fat Greek yogurt. I was in a rush and just ended up dicing one clove of garlic...it was perfect the next day and my 6 year old told me that the combination of garlic naan (an Indian flatbread that I toasted in the toaster oven) and this tzatziki was the best dinner ever. Who knew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The only thing I did differently was to add a splash of lemon juice. Yum! Make it ahead as it gets better with time. At least a couple of hours or overnight if you can make it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I served this with greek meatballs and everyone loved it. I'm making this again tomorrow for a party. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made this with the "Traditional gyro meat" recipe from this site. I loved this sauce. I thought it was simple and tasted extremely good. I used whole milk organic yogurt and placed it in a kitchen towel in a strainer over a bowel. It was only in the refrigerator for about 1 1/2 hours and it strained a lot of the liquid from the yogurt. In fact, I think the sauce was a little too thick and next time I will probably not squeeze out the cucumbers as much as I did. I probably used 2 Tbs. of fresh mint instead of 1/4 cup. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States