Tzatziki Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Yummy! I've made this twice now. I used 1 1/2 tsp dried dill because I had no mint, only 1 cup of greek yogurt, and I added a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice. Served it with the Spinach and Feta Turkey burgers off this site. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! I reduced the mint to about 6 leaves and used a little more cucumber than called for.....delicious and fresh tasting! An absolute staple in my kitchen from now on! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have used this recipe twice and this second time, I tweaked the recipe by reducing the mint to about 6 fresh leaves and also added 2 tsps of vinegar. The lesser amount of mint goves it just a very light hint of mint. These are ideas I got from another recipe and I think the vinegar kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
this is a great recipe. highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was ok....for some reason, the pepper just seemed overwhelming to me. We don't usually cook with lots of pepper, so maybe that's why I found it overwhelming. Had the pepper been reduced, I may have enjoyed it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krysta Harder
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
wow! i've never made Tzatziki sauce before, but i absolutely loved this recipe! it tastes WAAY better than the stuff at restaraunts! a couple of things i tweaked. i didn't have mint...fresh OR dried. what i DID have was a mint tea bag! i added a bit of that to the tzatziki sauce. i also only let my yogurt sit for maybe 45 minutes in coffee filters. i did however ring out my cucumer shreds quite thoroughly to make up for the yogurt liquid. i followed another reviewer and added a bit of lemon juice and dill to the sauce. THEN i used all the same spices while frying up my chicken for fresh pitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Harder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was excellent! I was really impressed with the flavors. I also used greek yogurt and it was perfect. I should mention that the different of chilling it first was huge. At first when I tried it, before I chilled it I was dubious, but afterwords I was really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good. I missed a fresh squeeze of lemon, so I added that. Salted the cucumber before draining, it draws out the water a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is really good, I've made this recipe twice already. I do think the amount of pepper is a bit too much for Tzatziki sauce, at least for our tastes. I would recommend cutting back on the pepper and adding a bit more salt also. I used a teaspoon of dried mint, I didn't have any fresh, which worked out fine. I don't have cheesecloth, so I line my colander with coffee filters, place over a bowl and add the yogurt over the filters and place in the refrigerator for 4 hours. This works perfect!! The second time I made this, I was short on time and only allowed 2 1/2 hours to drain the yogurt, and this was a bit soupy. It's very important to let this drain the 4 hours for perfect consistency. I would give this 5 stars, but the pepper is a bit to overwhelming and we didn't really taste any saltiness at all. I will make this again with those 2 minor changes, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
followed recipe as is and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States