Tzatziki Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
A very good recipe as is. Not as thick as I am used to though. To make it a 5-star recipe, I added finely chopped cucumbers, and I left out the olive oil and used greek yogurt because it is thicker. If you can't find greek yogurt (or a real yogurt strainer), you can put two coffee filters into a colander. Put the colander over a bowl and strain the yogurt for about an hour or so on the countertop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
To make this a true tzatziki sauce, I did add one very large deseeded cucumber. I also used greek yogurt. VERY good. I seriously ate myself sick on this with a bag of sea salt pita chips. NOTE: If you can stand it, the longer this sauce sits.......the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
so ... i'd give it a "5" based on the way i made it, but no cucumbers in the recipe?!?! it definitely needs them. i added about 1 cup of finely chopped cucumbers to the recipe and it was perfect and delicious! went great with the gyros burgers also on this site. also, we used Dannon's plain fat-free yogurt and had NO problems with it being too "runny" like others complained about. it was thick, rich and great. but remember to add those cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I can't really rate it in its virgin state because I didn't make it that way. However, with the changes I made it was a 5. Changes: 1/4 tsp pepper instead of 1/2 tsp, 1/2 tblsp dry dill instead of 1 tblsp fresh dill, 1 clove of garlic instead of 3 cloves, and I added 1/3 c. shredded & water pressed out cucumbers. Made this way it will be a permanent fixture in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I really liked this recipe, but to add to the flavor and texture, I doubled the fresh dill and added finely chopped cucumbers. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Tried Tzatziki sauce with chicken in a restraunt, this is the same. Delicous***.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Good start. I added finely diced seedless cucumbers (it needed it), chopped green onions, and 1 tsp of red wine vinegar. Also, use a good, thick greek yogurt. It does have a strong garlicky flavor, so if you are not a garlic lover, either half the garlic or lightly sauté it first to take out the raw garlic "bite". This was excellent on Pita Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Perfect Tzatziki sauce, Serena! We loved it. Served it with Sharon's Souvlaki, Tabbouleh and pita bread all of which are from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We made chicken gyros and used this as the sauce. The kids used leftover sauce for dipping vegetables for snacks for the week and liked it better than ranch. I will use this next time I make a veggie tray instead of ranch or dill sauce. This Tzatziki Sauce is better than anything I've had in a restaurant. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This recipe is awesome!!! I made a few changes though, I used greek yogurt, omitted the olive oil and used 2 cloves of garlic finely minced. It was very garlicky but that's how I like it. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States