Tzatziki II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Where I live there is this delicious Greek restaurant that is famous for this dip. They serve it with hot pita bread and feta cheese and it is excellent. This stuff tasted just like it, took me ten minutes to throw together, and kids don't even realize that their eating cucumber, onion and garlic. I used parsley instead of mint. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
It turned out quite good! (The only suggestion I might make would be to add a little bit of all-purpose flour to the finished product. I found it to be very watery once the cucumber was added - the flour helped to thicken it up a little.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Excellent recipe. Perfect in souvlaki. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
The tip one of the reviewers stated on being watery had me grate and lightly salt the cucumbers before using. After 30 minutes wrap in a paper or regular towel and squeeze out the excess water. This worked really well - just remember not to add the salt as stated in the recipe after pre salting the cukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Excellent!! I spooned this dip over some sauteed mushrooms and wrapped it all up in a pita. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Yum! Some tzatsiki recipes are more time-consuming as they require that the cucumber be strained out, but this recipe is just as good and is much easier. The only change I made was that I squeezed the excess water out of the cucumbers. In my opinion, the mint really makes this sauce. I serve it with the Gyroll recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
seeded the cuke and threw it into the food processor. Placed salted cuke in a collander and weighted it down for about 1 hour to leech the juice out. This came together nicely. Added just a touch more salt and a squirt of lemon juice. Only had dried mint and used 1/2 tsp. Let it sit for a while for the flavors to come together. It was not 'soupy'. Served this with 'gyro burgers' for a nice complete meal. I like this recipe because it makes enough without a ton of leftover to get pushed to the back of the fridge. thanks for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Okay, I didn't have any mint, which I don't particularly like anyway. So I left it out. And it was so good we ate it on quesadillas, as a veggie dip, on grilled chicken, my husband will eat it with plain bread. Be sure to let it sit, it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is awesome! I used 1 clove of garlic instead of 2, dried parsley instead of mint, added a squirt of lemon juice and strained the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is exactly like a recipe i've been using for years. There's no need to add oil like i read in other recipes. I changed it a little bit, i add 1/2 teaspoon dried dill and 1/2 teaspoon mustard. I also prefer to crush the garlic instead of using it chopped (don't like to find bits of garlic), and better wait till the cucumber is completely dry if you don't want your sauce to be runny. What i do is to grate the cucumber the day before and allow to drain in paper towels overnight. This is good for döner kebabs, sis kebabs, mashed potatoes, salads, as a veggie dip,.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States