Tzatziki II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I took a tip from another reviewer which actually works anytime you don't want watery cucmbers. After you chop or grate the cucumber add salt to them and then let them rest on papertowels to get the water out. You can even give them a good squeeze if you don't do that the yogurt or sourcream will be runny. I used 1 tsp. of dill weed instead of mint and served this with Souvlaki. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Just like in the greek restaurant. After straining the yogurt and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I prefer mine more plain and I just use Greek Plain Yogurt from Trader Joes and cucumber and a dash of dill. I also eat this with Naan Indian Bread which tastes like pita bread. I can't get enough of this lately........I also shred my cucumber ahead of time to reduce the water. Using thr greek yogurt helps because it is more thick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I took the advice of one of the raters and added salt to the cucumber to remove water. This was a good idea, but I did have to add more salt to the sauce. Since I'm not a fan of cucumbers, I used a 5-6in. cucumber and added about 2t of mint. This recipe is decent but I'm probably biased b/c I don't like cucumbers - I prefer another Tzatziki recipe from this site (which uses dried dill instead of mint and cucumber - it's great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Delicious! I always add lemon juice and dill. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This didn't really do it for me. Granted, the only other tzatziki I've had has been in restaurants, and I was hoping for the same level of flavor that I'd had before. This recipe didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this recipe to go along with the Naan (indian bread) and butter chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Excellent! I had only about 2.5 hours to drain the yogurt and it worked great. We used this as a dip for pita triangles. The kids didn't really like it but the adults loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was amazing Tzatziki! I used Yogurt-Cheese to make it even creamier and thick. We used it as a side dip for roast lamb. It was fantastic and even better the next day when the flavours melded together. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
great sauce for lamb, beef, sandwiches and veggies/salads! Very strong garlic flavor. If you are not a big garlic fan you might want to put in less. I let the sauce sit overnight in the fridge to let the flavor really sink into the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States