Tzatziki II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great recipe I did. I live in a area full of Greek restaurants so I know what this usually tastes like I also have a friend who is Greek who makes the best tzatziki I've ever had I showed him this recipe and the only change he gave me was to do half and half yogurt and sour cream this came out great. From reading other comments I did grate the cucumber and drain it before adding everything else which made it great. This will Definitely go into my regular menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I use Greek yogurt instead and it was too sweet so I guess that is where I went wrong? Had to add some lemon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We served this with lamb chops. The taste was good, but we found it way too runny. If I make it again I will use greek yogurt and/or drain it a bit first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Great recipe! I've read a couple other reviews that suggest to lightly salt the cucumber and set on paper towels to get some of the water out... If you would rather add the salt at the end like the recipes calls for, do what I did. I lined the bowl I shredded the cucumber in with a paper towel and then patted the top dry. It came out perfectly! Also, I substituted dill for the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Loved this but I added a bit: 3/4 cloves garlic total 1 cup sour cream I food processed the cuke I used sea salt and oregano and fresh lemon juice to taste SOOOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Perhaps it is runny because regular plain yogurt was used instead of the much thicker Greek strained yogurt? I used Greek and had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrchylde

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Be sure to drain everything or you'll have a soupy dip. I used dill because we prefer the taste. This recipe is my husband's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
It tasted really really good, next time I'll omit the salt as it was just a bit too salty for me. We also added some lemon juice for extra punch. I had barely 1/2 tsp mint leaves so I used what I had and it definitely could have used more. I also used only 1/2 cucumber, shredded and dried thoroughly with paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great and so easy! Would add a bit of lemon juice next time. Definately go with the mint over parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe. I used the exact ingredients, but have some comments that could help improve the quality of the texture. (These suggestions came from the owner of a local mid-east restaurant, who offers tzatziki on her menu). Instead of grating the cucumber after seeding it, simply cut into smaller pieces. Gratiing it necessitates the draining / pressing out of the water that accumulates (otherwise the yoghurt is watery). Also, the recipe doesn't specify the type of yoghurt, and most tzatziki recipes include the time-consuming step of straining the yoghurt in order to thicken it. However, I used plain Greek yoghurt (now easily obtained at local grocery stores -- in my case Albertsons), which is already thick and the perfect degree of tanginess. One more comment about the garlic: I bought peeled whole garlic cloves, and realized they were probably 25% larger than cloves on a typical garlic clump that I usually buy from the store. Thus, my family and I thought the recipe was slightly too garlicy. It is of course a matter of taste, too, but in the future I'd adjust the quantity of garlic accordingly. Overall, it was delicious. Our family (including children aged 8 and 10) love dipping it up with pita bread and eating it that way -- the same way I enjoyed it as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States