Tzatziki I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This tzatkziki sauce comes out amazing every time. I use probably 6 cloves garlic, which is not for everyone, as it is quite sharp that way. But the resident garlic freak likes it, so I must be doing something right. I've made this on several occasions, and by memory after the first time, and I realized that I never use the olive oil. I really can't see any need for it. When I omit the olive oil it's cool and creamy, with a great yoghurt and garlic tang. I'm getting hungry for gyros and falafel drenched in tzatziki while writing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
A really tasty recipe. It took a while to get the yogurt & cucumber thoroughly drained, but the result was well worth it. The garlic made it really zippy. I thought less might be better, but I was told that it was great just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
TASTE JUST LIKE THE RESTAURANTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
perfect with souvlaki on pita bread. just like the sauce i never get enough of in the restaurants!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Absolutely fab!!!!! Definitely drain your yogurt and cucumbers-- also another trick to keep it less soupy- mix the olive oil with the cucumbers (after draining of course) this will keep the soupy part down because what is the soupy part is the olive oil mixing with the yogurt! I love this recipe though and my family adores it on all sorts of things- baked potato, salad, chicken, with pita chips etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Really good flavor. It was a LITTLE runny as others have said, but not too bad. Be sure to salt the cucumbers and let it drain in a colander as per the instructions. I think the salt helps draw some of the liguid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
great for gyros! most sysco locations will let you "cash and carry" meats from their office. I bought a box of gyro meat there, mmmmm just like the restaurants. be creative! I bought a pizza pie shell, added pizza cheese, slices of gyro, dolops of this sauce, baked it in the oven then put onion and lettuce on it when it came out of the oven. FANTASTIC!! just like the sandwich.. this sauce will be made in my home again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This Tzatziki was fabulous. As other raters suggested you will need to drain the yogurt. My sauce was very tasty but runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Very good! Nice subtle garlic flavor... We used it for fish gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States