Tzatziki I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
TASTE JUST LIKE THE RESTAURANTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I can see the need for draining the cucumbers so much, although I followed the steps my dip was still a little runny, I have since searched the topic and found a recipe that drained the yogurt first (in cheesecloth). I think I will try this next time, however the taste was fabulous, a little too garlicky for my kids, but my husband and I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
perfect with souvlaki on pita bread. just like the sauce i never get enough of in the restaurants!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
A really tasty recipe. It took a while to get the yogurt & cucumber thoroughly drained, but the result was well worth it. The garlic made it really zippy. I thought less might be better, but I was told that it was great just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I wasn't overly impressed with this recipe. I drained the yogurt and drained the cucumber for 1/2 an hour longer than called for, and my sauce was still fairly soupy. It was also a lot more "lemony" than any tzatziki I've ever tasted. An average recipe, but one I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Absolutely fab!!!!! Definitely drain your yogurt and cucumbers-- also another trick to keep it less soupy- mix the olive oil with the cucumbers (after draining of course) this will keep the soupy part down because what is the soupy part is the olive oil mixing with the yogurt! I love this recipe though and my family adores it on all sorts of things- baked potato, salad, chicken, with pita chips etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Way too runny for my taste. I plan to try this recipe again but draining the yogurt at well as the cucumbers. I will also put less garlic because it was too spicy for me. I made this recipe again, 2 weeks after the first time. I drained the yogurt all afternoon and the cucumbers for 2 hours. It was still soupy and not at all the texture that I was looking for. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Really good flavor. It was a LITTLE runny as others have said, but not too bad. Be sure to salt the cucumbers and let it drain in a colander as per the instructions. I think the salt helps draw some of the liguid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
great for gyros! most sysco locations will let you "cash and carry" meats from their office. I bought a box of gyro meat there, mmmmm just like the restaurants. be creative! I bought a pizza pie shell, added pizza cheese, slices of gyro, dolops of this sauce, baked it in the oven then put onion and lettuce on it when it came out of the oven. FANTASTIC!! just like the sandwich.. this sauce will be made in my home again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I made this last weekend, and it was pretty good. Not exactly what I was looking for, but tasty just the same. I think that the olive oil overpowered it just a little. I was looking for something a bit smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States