Tzatziki I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm Greek and I love this sauce-- I make it often. The only thing I do different is that I use lots more garlic which is my taste of course. Don't use the colander that some have suggested. I cut up my cucumbers in a food processer and then place them in a small bowl with 6 layers of paper towels over the bowl, invert the bowl and then the cucumbers drain into the paper towels. I also do the same thing with the yogurt--trust me it will work so no soupy sauce! Also, make sure you mix the olive oil well into the yogurt then mix them together with the cucumbers! If you have a garlic press, you will definitely need it with this recipe and if you don't have one--go buy one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
great for gyros! most sysco locations will let you "cash and carry" meats from their office. I bought a box of gyro meat there, mmmmm just like the restaurants. be creative! I bought a pizza pie shell, added pizza cheese, slices of gyro, dolops of this sauce, baked it in the oven then put onion and lettuce on it when it came out of the oven. FANTASTIC!! just like the sandwich.. this sauce will be made in my home again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I can see the need for draining the cucumbers so much, although I followed the steps my dip was still a little runny, I have since searched the topic and found a recipe that drained the yogurt first (in cheesecloth). I think I will try this next time, however the taste was fabulous, a little too garlicky for my kids, but my husband and I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Absolutely fab!!!!! Definitely drain your yogurt and cucumbers-- also another trick to keep it less soupy- mix the olive oil with the cucumbers (after draining of course) this will keep the soupy part down because what is the soupy part is the olive oil mixing with the yogurt! I love this recipe though and my family adores it on all sorts of things- baked potato, salad, chicken, with pita chips etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is excellent! I really wanted a thick tzatziki so I drained the cucmbers and yogurt before using and then drained everything again after mixing it in the blender. It tastes better after being in the fridge for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The taste is good, but - as others have mentioned - it's way too soupy. There should be some instructions for draining the yogurt with this recipe. I wanted to use this as a dip for pita chips, but it doesn't stay on the chips very well. :( However, it would be good served over falafel in a pita sandwich, or as a salad dressing. (I can see it paired with romaine lettuce, feta cheese, olives, tomatoes, more cukes...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I wasn't overly impressed with this recipe. I drained the yogurt and drained the cucumber for 1/2 an hour longer than called for, and my sauce was still fairly soupy. It was also a lot more "lemony" than any tzatziki I've ever tasted. An average recipe, but one I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I followed Jennifer's suggestion for draining, with great success. I just stuffed the cukes in my food processor, too. She is right; it needs more garlic. I used the 6 cloves, only 1/8 cup oil, and added a dash of dill with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Way too liquid-y. The flavors were delicious, but my finished product had no thickness to it. As a result, not a very good dip for putting on a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The flavor of this was very good, but the texture could be better; it was very thin after I processed it. My boyfriend, who used to work in a greek restaurant suggested that using a food processor might be making it thin. Next time I'll try hand whisking the oil and vinegar/lemon juice together before whisking in the yogurt and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States