Tzatziki I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The taste is good, but - as others have mentioned - it's way too soupy. There should be some instructions for draining the yogurt with this recipe. I wanted to use this as a dip for pita chips, but it doesn't stay on the chips very well. :( However, it would be good served over falafel in a pita sandwich, or as a salad dressing. (I can see it paired with romaine lettuce, feta cheese, olives, tomatoes, more cukes...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was really good served with the Naan recipe from this site. I rather like the cucumber yogurt sauce the goes with the Warm Pitas with Turkey and Yogurt Cucumber Sauce found on this site, but this sauce was very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm Greek and I love this sauce-- I make it often. The only thing I do different is that I use lots more garlic which is my taste of course. Don't use the colander that some have suggested. I cut up my cucumbers in a food processer and then place them in a small bowl with 6 layers of paper towels over the bowl, invert the bowl and then the cucumbers drain into the paper towels. I also do the same thing with the yogurt--trust me it will work so no soupy sauce! Also, make sure you mix the olive oil well into the yogurt then mix them together with the cucumbers! If you have a garlic press, you will definitely need it with this recipe and if you don't have one--go buy one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I drained the cucumbers as suggested, but didn't read the reviews ahead of time to drain the yogurt... it was super runny and very messy, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Excellent. My family loves this. I Marinate chicken and put in on pita bread with extra cucumbers and onions and add this sauce. An easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe is great and can even be used as a cucumber salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I made this last weekend, and it was pretty good. Not exactly what I was looking for, but tasty just the same. I think that the olive oil overpowered it just a little. I was looking for something a bit smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
great for gyros! most sysco locations will let you "cash and carry" meats from their office. I bought a box of gyro meat there, mmmmm just like the restaurants. be creative! I bought a pizza pie shell, added pizza cheese, slices of gyro, dolops of this sauce, baked it in the oven then put onion and lettuce on it when it came out of the oven. FANTASTIC!! just like the sandwich.. this sauce will be made in my home again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Really good flavor. It was a LITTLE runny as others have said, but not too bad. Be sure to salt the cucumbers and let it drain in a colander as per the instructions. I think the salt helps draw some of the liguid out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Way too runny for my taste. I plan to try this recipe again but draining the yogurt at well as the cucumbers. I will also put less garlic because it was too spicy for me. I made this recipe again, 2 weeks after the first time. I drained the yogurt all afternoon and the cucumbers for 2 hours. It was still soupy and not at all the texture that I was looking for. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States