Two Ton Bourbon Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I made this for some men who I use to work for and they LOVED It. Can you guess why??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Yuuum--was a total hit last Fat Tuesday. Everyone loved it! Was worth the time it took to prep all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I had to put a one star for the kid friendly rating because this really is an "adults only" cake as the bourbon is added after the cooking which means none of the alcohol is cooked off. The taste of this cake is fantastic and if you serve it to anyone who even remotely likes bourbon they will NOT be disappointed. Great cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I will probably try this cake sometime but oooohhweeee..did you get a look at the calories and fat grams on the cake?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This cake really needs a chance to mellow...at least overnight. It gets better with age, especially with extra splashes of bourbon every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I'm a huge bourbon fan and even I had trouble with this one-- the cake was great, but the bourbon poured on after was overpowering--was like eating a shot of bourbon--very strong-- tasted better after sitting for a day-- may try again but pour less bourbon over top (maybe bake more within), decrease the pecans and maybe "candy" a portion of the pecans in the cake as the cake is not very sweet. Would also be good with a powdered sugar glaze spiked with bourbon. Good cake, just too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
One word. DRY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Sounded great, but we didn't like it at all. Too much nuts, the mix of flavors just didn't hit it off with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this cake before the Holidays and was very disappointed. A fairly expensive cake to make and did not have much flavor to it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States