Two Ton Bourbon Pecan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I made this for some men who I use to work for and they LOVED It. Can you guess why??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Yuuum--was a total hit last Fat Tuesday. Everyone loved it! Was worth the time it took to prep all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I had to put a one star for the kid friendly rating because this really is an "adults only" cake as the bourbon is added after the cooking which means none of the alcohol is cooked off. The taste of this cake is fantastic and if you serve it to anyone who even remotely likes bourbon they will NOT be disappointed. Great cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I'm a huge bourbon fan and even I had trouble with this one-- the cake was great, but the bourbon poured on after was overpowering--was like eating a shot of bourbon--very strong-- tasted better after sitting for a day-- may try again but pour less bourbon over top (maybe bake more within), decrease the pecans and maybe "candy" a portion of the pecans in the cake as the cake is not very sweet. Would also be good with a powdered sugar glaze spiked with bourbon. Good cake, just too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I made this cake before the Holidays and was very disappointed. A fairly expensive cake to make and did not have much flavor to it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This cake really needs a chance to mellow...at least overnight. It gets better with age, especially with extra splashes of bourbon every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I will probably try this cake sometime but oooohhweeee..did you get a look at the calories and fat grams on the cake?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Sounded great, but we didn't like it at all. Too much nuts, the mix of flavors just didn't hit it off with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
One word. DRY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
A little dry. I didn't pour the extra cup of bourbon over the top of the cake because I thought the flavor would be way too intense. Even just baked in, there was a lot of bourbon flavor. I only baked it for an hour and 10 minutes at the set temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States