Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I doubled the filling, used a full block of cream cheese, and used 4 tbsp of strawberry jello mix instead of the grenadine. It firmed up quickly. I actually had to use 4X as many berries to fill my 2 pies and 6 tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I used less cream and more cream cheese due to what I had on hand. I used a cookie type crust and it worked well. Held together better then the other three strawberry pies I made this week. Two cups of fruit is not near enough, four cups would be better! Thanks for the great recipe Julie! I will be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
soooooooo good! Next time I probably will not use as much of the strawberry glaze & maybe add additional fresh strawberries on top of the glazed part (it was really sweet!). I also used the whole 8 oz. block of cream cheese, like others did. The cheese part with a graham cracker crust would be soooo good with fresh blueberries (or any berry, for that matter) on it--I may have to try it that way next time. Anyways, it was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made this recipe for a group of friends and they loved it. My husband ate two pieces :}. I had read several of the reviews and made quite a few changes. I didn't have grenadine, so I use 1/3 cup more water and 2 tblsp. of strawberry jello. I also didn't use the whipping cream, used light cool whip. I also used the lighter version of cream cheese. Then I used a graham cracker crust and melted 1/4 cup chocolate chips and spread it on the crust before I added the cream cheese filling. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was really good. I did a search for a pie using cream cheese and strawberries and this was the best one that came up. I was a bit iffy about the grenadine, but once the whole pie was done, you couldn't even taste the sickly sweet cherry grenadine flavor. Its more lends to making the strawberry layer thicker. I didn't have a pie crust, so I layered multiple sheets of phyllo dough in a tart pan and pre=baked them to create a nice shell for the filling. We finished the whole thing in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I was looking for something that was like cheesecake without having to make a cheesecake. I just didn't have time to get it done. This was perfect. The longet part of the prep was the time it took me to cut up the strawberries. I made the first layer the night before as well as the cornstarch/grenadine mixutre. I chilled them both overnight and then mixed the strawberries and grenadine together in the morning topped the pie with them. I brought it to work for a coworkers birthday and it was a hit. Everyone really enjoyed it! I also used a graham cracker crust and would do so again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Mmmmm...very good! I like that this pie doesn't use gelatin (as I'm a vegetarian). I used 8 oz. cream cheese but found that was too much. I'd go with 5 oz. Also, the whipped cream didn't really "fold into" the cream cheese. Next time, I'm not going to whip the cream cheese - just cream it with 1/2 and 1/2. I'm not a huge almond extract fan, so next time I'll cut it to 1/4 teaspoon. I'll also decrease the lemon juice to 1 tablespoon - I thought it made the strawberries too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Amazing! Everyone loved this pie. It was even good the second day, unlike others have said on here. I used homemade traditional pie crust. I did use 8 oz of cream cheese as some people had suggested. It is great the way it is but I think next time I make it I am going skip making the "gelatin" sauce. Instead I will half or quarter 2 lbs. of strawberries and mix with approx. 1/8 c. sugar and approx. 1-2 Tbs of balsimic vinegar. Let them sit for a few hours (this gives them a sweet but slightly tangy taste) then spoon on top of the cream cheese mixture. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Just add some m&m's, and it'll be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I get compliments every time I make this - with one small adjustment (I use 8 oz of cream cheese). Everytime my husband has a pot luck at work, the employees request that I make this pie. Of course, when I make two for him, I have to make two for my office as well. There is never any left over and people are sad when they miss it! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States