Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My mother always made a recipe similar to this. Great to have when strawberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This pie was amazing! I actually made a second one a few days later since I gave all of the first one away. I did read a bunch of the reviews beforehand and made a few changes to the original. Graham cracker crust is definitely the way to go. Sogginess factor aside, it adds a really great flavor that normal pie crust wouldn't. I also used 8oz. of cream cheese instead of three. It ended up being quite a bit of the cream layer, but it was delicious, so no complaints from me. I used arrowroot starch instead of cornstarch for the sauce. Cornstarch probably would have worked fine, but if you have arrowroot I would recommend that. Not only is it flavorless, but it thickens quickly and evenly and stayed semi fluid for me, so I didn't have the problem of the cornstarch mixture being too thick after cooling. Arrowroot also has a beautiful shiny, clear appearance that works great with fruit desserts. As for the strawberries, I didn't measure the exact amount I used, but it was probably closer to three cups. That made my topping more strawberry and less sauce dominant. I also sliced the strawberries using an egg slicer and threw them into the sauce mixture right after it had thickened. That way I didn't have to worry about stirring them in later, they cooked a little which softened them, and having them sliced made the pie much easier to cut later since I didn't have to navigate my knife around big chunks of strawberry. Not too difficult to make and delicious. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lake Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I didn't like the top tier to this pie. The texture was not what I was hoping for. I will keep looking for a better homemade glaze to use as a topper to this otherwise tasty pie. And can't imagine it with anything but a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is the best Strawberry Pie; I've ever eaten! Used strawberry gelatin; in a previous review and it worked!!! Everyone loved it and it was the first dessert to be eaten at the Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnychicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Absolutely Perfect.. Everyone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
very good pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseofSharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! So easy to make, and tastes great. Be careful though, my gel didn't even take 2 mins to cook. I did used reduced fat cream cheese and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fabulous!!! With only one change...used a whole package of cream cheese & 1 cup of confectioners sugar replacer(Ideal brand) And whipped the snot out of my heavy cream before folding in everything else. But will say. I'm going to omit the almond extract next time, it was fine, but rather it didn't over power the other flavors that were trying to come threw. I could see adding strawberry extract in it's place. But My favor part about the whole recipe was making the glaze....it was outstanding. And quick. Very flavorful...no more will I buy what I thought was a decent strawberry glaze from the produced department..now is on my ugh nasty list. It was always ok..BUT this glaze...by far hands down...AWESOME! It totally made the whole pie for us. The pie feed my hubby & 5 kids. Just hmmm! Thank God for premade pie crust. TY Julie, It's going to be a staple for summer desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My husband described this as "the best pie he has had in his life" - my daughter called it cheesecake heaven - so you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I thought the strawberries part was sinfully good, but I take exception to the filling. 3oz cream cheese won't keep whipped cream from melting in the fridge over time (not enough to stabilize it, use 8 oz and up the sugar to taste); and use your beaters to WHIP the cream cheese into the whipped cream. It won't take more than about 15 seconds to accomplish, and if just fold it in as the recipe states, you can stir til you turn blue in the face & still have cheese chunk areas. Tasty areas, but the unflavored whipped cream is not so good if the cheese is left in chunks, bleh. I WILL make this again, but I'll omit the whipping cream entirely and just put a layer of sugared cream cheese (with this recipe's extracts, because I really liked the addition of almond). Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States