Two Layer Greek Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I used sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh and kalamata olives instead of black plus I added pesto sauce. I layered the feta mixture, then pesto, feta again, sundried tomatoes and olives, feta, then topped with cucumber and green onion. It was wonderful! Dip should be kept cold though. As it sat out it got a bit watery looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
To avoid it getting watery, try one of two things: Substitute sour cream for the yogurt (which I do, because sour cream just holds up better) OR put the yogurt in a cheesecloth-lined mesh strainer overnight and turn it into yogurt cheese before using. There will be a lot less liquid that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I used Greek strained plain yogurt. I found it in my grocery stores natural food section. It has the consistency of sour cream and a better flavor than regular plain yogurt. That took care of the watery issues. I also used a crumbled feta that had Mediterranean herbs mixed in to add more flavor than garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Just responding to the watery/soupy problem... first as another person said, keep veggies separate until right before you serve, I always have them pre-diced in a bowl and add as needed. Also both layers should be kept cold as longas ossible. I find alot of the time I add a bit more feta and cream cheese so that the mix starts out very paste-like as well.. Next time I make this I tink i might try out some of the other suggestions for a change though. My husband laughs because whenever I am home alone for a couple of days I make a big batch of this stuff and pretty much live off of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
i loved it.....i used light sour cream and added dried basil, oregano and salt. i used pita chips and also cut up everything bagels for dipping.....YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this for a get together with my girlfriends to rave reviews. I used Fage nonfat Greek yogurt which is so thick it didn't need to be drained as do some other yogurts. Since I already had it in my refgrierator, I did add in a layer of pesto sauce as another reviewer reccommended. While this was a nice addition, I probably won't repeat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Very good, but the best trick to avoid the 'yogurt soup' effect, is to drain your yogurt in cheese cloth for a few hours before preparing the dish. That's the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have used Rednekkchikk's recipe as is for a couple of years now & never change anything. It's always awesome, everyone loves it! I serve it with Garlic Herb crackers from All Bran - but could eat it by the spoonful by itself. It's my fav dip recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was an outstanding dip. Took it to a neighborhood ladies night. So pretty and fresh tasting, many loved it. I used greek yogurt to up the protein and store bought pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam-i-am
Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This dip rocks! My friend brought it over last year, and I've been addicted since...You really should drain the yogurt to make "yogurt cheese"; otherwise the dip will be runny. I line a strainer with cheesecloth and place in a bowl. Pour the yogurt in and let drain for about an hour. You can substitute sour cream for the yogurt, but you won't get as much of an authentic taste. Also good with red onion (or any veggies for that matter!) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States