Two Layer Greek Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I used sun dried tomatoes instead of fresh and kalamata olives instead of black plus I added pesto sauce. I layered the feta mixture, then pesto, feta again, sundried tomatoes and olives, feta, then topped with cucumber and green onion. It was wonderful! Dip should be kept cold though. As it sat out it got a bit watery looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Just responding to the watery/soupy problem... first as another person said, keep veggies separate until right before you serve, I always have them pre-diced in a bowl and add as needed. Also both layers should be kept cold as longas ossible. I find alot of the time I add a bit more feta and cream cheese so that the mix starts out very paste-like as well.. Next time I make this I tink i might try out some of the other suggestions for a change though. My husband laughs because whenever I am home alone for a couple of days I make a big batch of this stuff and pretty much live off of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I think I should have strained the yogurt or something because it was really soupy pretty quickly and kind of ruined it. I thought it tasted great, and I would like to try it again. I loved the combination of flavours and included a lot of my favorite things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
To avoid it getting watery, try one of two things: Substitute sour cream for the yogurt (which I do, because sour cream just holds up better) OR put the yogurt in a cheesecloth-lined mesh strainer overnight and turn it into yogurt cheese before using. There will be a lot less liquid that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
FABULOUS. BEST Greek dip we've ever had! Very nice. A hit at my b-day party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
SOME EASY CHANGES: Spread two containers of cream cheese and chive on a lg dish then cover with hummus---use the rest of the ingerdients as a topping and use pita chips to dip---MY FAMILY RAVES OVER THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Good Recipe! Although I should of listened to the recipe and not added the veggies until right before serving, because after sitting in the fridge for a couple hours the dip became quite runny. Will remember that for next time! I also used sour cream instead of plain yogurt only because I didnt have any plain yogurt on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronach, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Ljugarn, Gotlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was good served with baked pita chips. However, I have tried other greek dips that I found more flavorful than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very, very good. Did get a little watery as it sat out so wait until the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCANDEE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Great dip for a hot Summer day. I followed the advice of other reviewers and chilled yogurt/cream cheese/feta mixture..I added the chopped vegetables at the last minute. I added chopped red pepper too..Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States