Two Layer Greek Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Very good! I initially spread the cheese mixture into a pie plate, which looked like about the right depth. But since only two of us were eating, I ended up spreading the cheese mixture into individual plates at serving time, for a light lunch, so that I wouldn't have veggies on the whole thing. (I used the Corning Ware 'sidekicks', if anyone remembers them = ) ... they are oval and have a lip, so worked well for this. And I made the cheese mixture a day ahead.) Served with whole-wheat pita bread cut into eight triangles, and with the new (to me) Town House Pita Crackers. I would probably use more veggies, just for me, and maybe press them into the cheese in addition to sprinkling. I didn't have any issues with wateriness, but I realize now that I used two 5.25 ounce cartons of plain Greek yogurt, instead of two 8 ounce cartons of regular plain yogurt...which may not be that far off if the regular yogurt was strained. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Oh my word--this is the bomb! SO different than the other same old, same old spreads and dips we see frequently. This is not made instantaneously but the time taken is worth the complex flavor provided. **I absolutely drain the yogurt over cheesecloth and a bowl for almost 2 hours to thicken. Because of this technique, I have NEVER had a drippy dish. Texture remained good. Vegetable lovers should really appreciate this--you might have some picky veggie-eaters not dive in so eagerly. I use bagel chips or rounds for needed crispy texture. One time I did also provide softer pita bread cut in triangles along with the chips in case others preferred that. I still think the texture of the chips was preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
LOVE! I did not use black olives because I don't care for them, but I love everything else about this! The flavors are so good together and the cucumbers and tomato add a light, cool, crispness to the cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Divine!!! I added black beans and brown rice to make it a main dish. Also used greek yogurt and put the left overs on baked potatoes the next night. Huge hit with the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was an outstanding dip. Took it to a neighborhood ladies night. So pretty and fresh tasting, many loved it. I used greek yogurt to up the protein and store bought pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam-i-am
Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This dip had really great flavor. I mistakenly left off the green onion but I know ut would've made it even better. My husband and I ended up topping our baked potatoes with this as well. I will defintely make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this for a get together with my girlfriends to rave reviews. I used Fage nonfat Greek yogurt which is so thick it didn't need to be drained as do some other yogurts. Since I already had it in my refgrierator, I did add in a layer of pesto sauce as another reviewer reccommended. While this was a nice addition, I probably won't repeat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I used greek yogurt like other suggested and it was great! I toasted pita bread and then cut it into small triangles! I would def make this for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
i loved it.....i used light sour cream and added dried basil, oregano and salt. i used pita chips and also cut up everything bagels for dipping.....YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have used Rednekkchikk's recipe as is for a couple of years now & never change anything. It's always awesome, everyone loves it! I serve it with Garlic Herb crackers from All Bran - but could eat it by the spoonful by itself. It's my fav dip recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States