Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
So simple, so irresistible! I didn't have a spice cake mix in my pantry, but I did have a sugar-free yellow cake mix, along with a can of pumpkin I needed to use. I dumped the dry cake mix in a bowl, added a tablespoon of cinnamon and 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. I mixed it up, then stirred in my can of pumpkin. As a finishing touch, I added 2 tsp. of good Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla. My loaf needed to bake for about 7 min. longer than the directions called for, but it came out great! This bread is dense, very moist without being heavy, and so flavorful! What a perfect recipe to make on a lazy, rainy Sunday afternoon. It was literally 5 minutes to assemble and pop in the oven. It couldn't be easier. My family loved it and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I read reviews for this and saw that the batter was thick and didn't rise. So I combined this idea with others I have read about "Diet Coke cake" and added 1/2 or so can of Caffeine Free Diet Coke to the batter to make it thinner and fluffy. The cake rose nicely and is very light and airy without adding any extra calories via eggs. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I have made this cake as the recipe is written and considered it OK. I took some of the other reviewer's comments, added a few additional ingredients of my own and the cake was fantastic! I kept the addition of 2 eggs and cinnamon. Since I wanted a very heavy cake, similar to a pound cake, I also added 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt. I baked it in an 11x14 metal pan, sprayed with cooking spray, for 15-20 min longer. I put caramel frosting on top (from AllRecipes - ingredients are mostly butter, brown sugar, and flour). Cake was fabulous...very moist, but lighter texture at the top, then very dense on the bottom, almost like a cheesecake. Tastes like an old fashioned cake my mother used to make from scratch, so I was very happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious..its awesome...I like simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra1949

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I give this five stars with the following changes: use German chocolate cake mix, half cup of Apple cider, plus a tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Then top with chocolate coconut cream cheese frosting (recipe found on allrecipes). Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Didn't read the reviews before trying this, but found it very thick also and decided to add a 1/2 cup of sour cream. Delicious and SO easy! I would love to try these as cookies as recommended by Suz also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Should say three ingredient. Needed two eggs otherwise too stiff to stir. Frosted with cream cheese icing from this site. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Three stars for flavor and texture - 5 stars for simplicity and healthier version. ....equals 4 stars given. Made as cake. It was ok. Second time made them as cookies and added a cup of chocolate chips. My kids liked them and they are a little healthier. Thanks. ** funny people are changing it to what the recipe calls for on the box...duh :) The recipe was changed for a reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Photo by tea ali
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I didn't have spice cake mix, so I used yellow cake mix and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger. Also followed the suggestion to add two eggs. Baked in a tube pan for about an hour. Drizzled with a glaze made with confectioners sugar, and a little butter and milk. Turned out tasty and moist, and not too sweet...just the way I like it. I also liked that the thick batter gave the cake a 'rough' surface, which I think makes cakes and breads look more home made. 5 stars for how quick, easy, and tasty this recipe is. Too simple not to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States