Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aanchal
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very simple! I couldn't find any spice cake mix in the store so instead I used Betty Crockers Super Moist Carrot Cake and it was delicious I baked it in a 9x13 pan and it came out very moist and tasted just as good as any old normal cake. My 8 year old loved it so I consider it a success! I did add 1/4 tsp ground clove, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I plan on making muffins out of these and packing them for lunch for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I added 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice and sprinkled the top with pecans and turbinado raw cane sugar before baking. Delicious. Tastes best after it's been cooled completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! I used spice cake mix and topped it with sprinkles. No icing needed. But, for the life of me, I haven't been able to find spice cake this year, so I bought carrot cake and am about to try it with that. What I've read says it is equally good, so I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJerzGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Rated as easy and only two items made it my bring along item for yesterday. Read remarks to add extras but used only the two ingredients. Didn't have the mixing problems everyone said they had. Added only small amounts of powdered cake mix at a time and mixing together thoroughly before adding more. Did the knife test to make sure it was done as recommended... *skip that and only cook 30 min! Added 5 minutes with the knife showing uncooked cake... don't believe it! Burned the bottom on the corners and not as moist. Used 9"x13" pan and I'd suggest the Bundt pan, easier to fill and serve. Next time, I'll make for myself in cookie form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I used the can of pumpkin but added one block of cream cheese and one egg. I had to bake it 15 minutes more. I used cream cheese frosting. It was YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I found this cake to be way easy, after all, it's only two ingredients! So I love that aspect of it. The cake turned out great and tasted great, even without any toppings. My only concern is that it really doesn't seem like a "dump cake". From my understanding, a dump cake is a cake with the cake mix "dumped" on top of the batter, creating a crust. I could be wrong, but from all of the other dump cake recipes I have looked at, they all require that. So I feel this recipe's name is misleading. I am going to try this recipe again but sprinkle cake mix on top and add melted butter to see if it gives more of a "dump" cake look. I also plan on trying another type of pumpkin dump cake that requires more ingredients just to see if the consistency and appearance come close to this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Serviss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made it, added the eggs as suggested and frosted w/cream cheese frosting. It was fine but not super moist as expected. I was up to 3 ingredients, isn't the regular box just 4 (mix, egg, oil, water?). If the point is to be simple just make the box as directed. If you are looking for a moist flavorful spice cake then look up another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I just made this cake for Halloween, and it was the best pumpkin spice cake I have ever had. Everyone LOVED it. I added 1/3 cup of applesauce just because some reviews said it was difficult to mix, I don't even think it was necessary. The two ingredients would have been fine. To me, it was not too thick or hard to mix. It was EXTRA moist. I baked it in a bundt pan for 45 mins. I did not need glaze, whipped topping, icing - nothing. It was perfect plain. I will definitely make this again with only the 2 ingredients in the recipe. Easy peasy and better than delicious! Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I used a dark 9X13 pan and the original recipe and it took 26 minutes to bake on the middle oven rack. Great warm from the pan, and even better with some whipped topping or scoop of ice cream. Wonderful easy time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Just made this with spice cake. Added the recommended two eggs and a little extra pumpkin pie spice.... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States