Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
You wouldn't think this would make a cake using 2 ingredients but it doesn and it is EXCELLENT. My family is hooked on it now! Great to take to dinners for a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I made this with homemade cream cheese frosting for our small group at church and it was a big hit!! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I can't say enough great things about this cake, my whole family craves it, my grandmother asks me to make it for her. I'm not the the greatest cook, nor do I have alot of time, and this cake turned out so moist..I would give it more stars if I could!!! I totally recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I made this for an early Thanksgiving lunch for my family, and it was very easy and quite good. I baked it in a bundt pan, drizzled melted cream cheese icing, and topped it with pecans I had left over from my sweet potatoes. It made a lovely presentation. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars and not 5 it that the texture was a little less than desirable - not bad, just not the best. 4.5 would be the ideal rating. Very easy, and it really looks and tastes quite impressive! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Easy and yummy, just the way I like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
It is an awesome cake!! Very easy to make and moist, moist, moist! It was a HIT at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
hard to stir, not very pretty, but SUPER EASY!!! and tastes just fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I didn't have any pumpkin but I did have two cans of carrots so I thought, "Why not?" I first drained the carrots then dumped them in the bowl and beat the heck out of them with my electric mixer. I then decided since I was already experimenting I added some chopped walnuts. I was worried I didn't have enough moisture since I had NO idea if the amount of carrots I now had was equal to a can of pumpking and the walnuts would soak some up too, I added 3 medium eggs. I followed someone else's suggestion of baking it in a bundt pan and did the sour cream glaze. It came out great!!! It wasn't as carroty as carrot cake would be but my husband and grown son have been fighting over who gets the biggest pieces. Next time I will try it as it should be. I bet it is just as good. Thanks for the recipe!*** 2nd, 3rd... times around... I used an electric mixer each time I made this and had NO problems mixing. I followed the recipe exactly the 2nd time and the texture was not as good. The 3rd and subsequent times I added an egg or two and it was GREAT!!! I have used a bundt pan each time and it turns out lovely and rises just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
It's true! It doesn't get any easier than this. Perfect when you have no time to shop for multiple ingred's. It definitely needs frosting, though. Used cream cheese frosting IV from this site and was perfect. Also sprinkled mini choc chips on top and balanced the taste well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
There are a few reasons why I gave this only 3 stars. The taste of the cake was just ordinary, nothing special. The cake batter was very, very difficult to work with. The recipe said to spread evenly in the 9x13 pan but this batter was like spreading thick peanut butter in a pan that has been greased. It stuck to the spatula much more than it did to the dish. When I would move the spatula the batter literally came out of the dish. And however you make it look when you put it in the oven is exactly how it will look when it comes out. So, needless to say, it is not a pretty presentation. The cake does not puff up and even out at all. It is almost impossible to spread this evenly and get a smooth surface and when it is done baking it really shows. It can be covered up with frosting however. So while the ingredients make this cake appear very quick and easy the prep work takes up much more time than anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States