Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I had a larger can of pumpkin on hand (20oz) and a vanilla cake mix so I used them. I added 2t of pumpkin pie spice and 1t of cinnamon since it was a vanilla cake mix. Very easy to hand mix. I used PAM on my jelly roll pan/cookie sheet. Baked it for 30 min. Excellent. It is moist and pudding like in the middle and yes it was done. Tastes like it is full of eggs and butter and ha! it isn't. Can't wait to take it to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I'm sorry. I can't give this a good rating. Perhaps spiced pumpkin cookies, but there's no way this thick and dense batter is for a cake. After modifying the recipe with 2 eggs and 1/4 cup milk later I was able to produce cake batter. But because *I* ended up modifying it, the posted recipe is what's getting the rating. It's a nice base, but honestly, this is a 4 ingredient recipe, not 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Tried recipe. Batter very thick. Hard to pour into pan. Cake crumbly, not moist. Did NOT like :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I have to concur... the batter was a nightmare as directed, so I felt like I had to add extra eggs to have something resembling a cake batter... even then, it was quite difficult to get into the pan evenly. The taste was fine, though it neither "popped" with pumpkin flavor or had the kind of homestyle crumb that good pumpkin quick breads do well. I think next time (if there is a next time) I will add a stick of melted butter and amp up the spices or even use something more creative like a chocolate cake mix. Too late to make something else tonight, so my choir will have to eat this as a treat regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
You show the picture of the cake made in a bundt pan so that's what I put in into. It is now 35 minutes and the cake is still raw!! If you show a cupcake pan...it should be for cupcakes...a bundt cake picture should be for a bundt pan. With two ingredients all I had to read was the temp and time cause I never figured you'd show a different photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Pretty good! I added 1/4 cup of water and 3 eggs. It was very hard to mix (Make sure you mix it well or you will get bites with the crunch of the cake mix). Baked for 35 minutes and topped with a glaze, although it didn't really need it. Next time, I will add chopped pecans to the cake mix and just dust with cinnamon and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRILEY0727
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My 16 yr old son was looking for a pumpkin recipe and came across this one, he didnt know to read reviews and didnt add an egg etc.... someone should fix it up so that its not misleading.... now he doesnt have much pride in his contribution to our big family meal .... jus sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it with my changes! One box of yellow cake mix, 1-15oz can of pumpkin, 2 eggs, 1/4 of water, 1 tablespoon of McCormicks Pumpkin Pie Spice. Beat eggs, then pumpkin, eggs, water and spice. Mix well. Then add cake mix to your wet mixture, mix well. Spoon evenly and smoothly into a 8x10 greased pan. Bake on 350 for 25 minutes. Cake does rise and looks nice. Let cool to a warm temp and add cream cheese icing. Cool Whip would also go nice with it!! I mixed all the ingredients by hand. There was no need to use a mixer which is less work and dishes! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
The only reason why I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because I added some stuff to it to make it better. It is a good variation though so you don't use oil and you feel a little less guilty going in for the 2nd (or 3rd) helping. I added 3 eggs, 1/4 sugar, and a teaspoon and a half of pumpkin pie spice. When first taking it out of the oven it is very dry like some people said. If you're serving right away I would only add 2 eggs. The next day, however, the consistency was amazing and now on day 3 it is perfect! Plan on making pumpkin spice french toast tomorrow with the rest of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday, and took it to a bonfire get-together. I added nutmeg, cinnamon, and poppy seeds (didn't measure, just sprinkled each ingredient) when I mixed it up, and baked it in a Bundt pan. Then I frosted it with cream cheese frosting. Everyone said it was delicious! And you can't beat how easy it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crabby rat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States