Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this as directed however my spice cake mix was 15.25 oz. So I used 1 3/4 cups of canned pumpkin from a 29 oz. can I don't know what all of the fuss is about. I mixed the cake mix and pumpkin by hand. It was thick but not unmanageable. I used a well-greased Bundt pan. I smoothed the top with a spoon to make it even. I baked it for 30 min. I cooled it in the pan for 10 minutes. It came right out. True, it did not rise like a regular cake mix does. It's more like a pumpkin ring. The texture is good and it smells and tastes great. I will top it with the simple glaze that someone else suggested. I have also made this recipe into jumbo muffins. Everyone loved them! I love these easy recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
like others said what you see in the pan when it goes into the oven is what comes out. I had hoped-because I didn't read the reviews before making- that the very thick batter would spread out in the pan and even out a bit while baking and it didn't. The taste is good, nothing fancy. I topped it with an allspice cream cheese frosting, that made it more presentable. But it is a very flat cake...more like fluffy bars! I made it as my contribution to our volunteer fire stations soup supper and it will work for that, I am sure people will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I agree with adding two eggs. Made mini muffins first for work and had rave reviews. Also use for holiday mini pumpkin loaf cakes that are moist and delicious. I serve with cream cheese frosting on the side so people can eat with or without. This recipe is delicious, easy and quick. Great for office party or other gathering where you need something that is make ahead and travels well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this as cookies for a cookie exchange at work.I used pumpkin pie mix instead of canned pumpkin(bought it by mistake).The batter was not stiff like some of the reviews said. I did have to increase the baking time by about 2-3 minutes.Very easy and tasted good! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I always wondered who had time to write reviews but I had to add to the discussion. I am allergic to eggs and so always pass on cake. But I heard about this recipe and tried it with a devil's food cake mix. If you put in a spring-form pan and flip it upside down you have a beautiful cake. Four teenagers devoured the cake with a little whipcream on it. I may add a little water next time to spread a bit easier. I will definitely make it againl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I, like others, added two eggs and I added Cinnamon Chips to add the spice I thought it was lacking...I made mini muffins instead of the cake and they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this last night. After reading all the suggestions, I decided to use a yellow cake mix. I added 1tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/3 cup sugar , and 2 eggs. I put 2/3 batter in a greased flute pan. Chopped 1/2 cup walnuts, spread over batter, then sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar mixed with additional cinnamon. Pour the remaining batter over sugar and nuts. baked at 350 for 30 minutes. So moist and yummy no frosting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this recipe and baked the batter in a muffin pan. Got about 16 regular sized muffins from the recipe. Baked at 350 for 20-24 minutes. They taste really great and it's a recipe I can remember at the store when shopping for ingredients. The second time I made them, I added cream cheese frosting. But they are good plain as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
It's okay. It comes out dense, but pretty tasty. It's a good alternative if you want a low cal dessert. I also make it into muffins, rather than as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Simple and delicious. Yes! DENSE BATTER. Feels weird to cook since not like "normal" batters. Also loved that it doesn't make a huge cake - it was great for 2 people and a few days of snacking instead of the waste of throwing out old cake. I did have to cook it 40 mins so watch and knife test at 30. I did not have spice cake so used a yellow box and added in the cinnamon, allspice, etc. Definite keeper. Totally rocked it out with toasted coconut over butter cream powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitchJGray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States