Two Bowl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Made this for my daughter's birthday. We had a guest who can't have dairy. Instead of cocoa I added chopped fresh strawberries and a box of strawberry jello mix. I frosted it with a simple powdered sugar frosting. It was amazing. We will make this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is probably the tastiest, easiest egg free cake I've made. I used this recipe for cupcakes for my nephew's birthday party and they were a hit with all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divamom74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is FANTASTIC. So easy, simple and it is probably the most moist cake I've ever had. I am on a strict Vegan diet due to my daughters severe allergies to milk and soy protein and this is the first sweets I have had in half a year! Wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious cake, surprisingly good as I haven't had much luck with most eggless baked goods. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder b/c I wanted something extra chocolately, but otherwise I followed the recipe. It took 35 minutes at 350 in my oven and came out moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and was amazed that a dairy and egg free cake could be so moist. I recently discovered I am allergic to anything and everything that comes from milk. I half heartedly tried this recipe expecting it to be horrible despite the reviews since I am new at eating dairy free. I assumed my taste buds hadn't adjusted yet but this cake was amazing. I served it to my in-laws and they didn't believe it was dairy and egg free since it was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a very forgiving recipe. I used substitutions (grape seed oil & apple cider vinegar) and realized later I forgot the vanilla extract. However, even with my mistake and substitutions the cake turned out moist and chocolately. My boyfriend loved it and he's not a fan of chocolate cake. I want to make it again with lemon as suggested and also with orange. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GoodyBrook
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Even in greased rounds, this moist cake was difficult to remove. I ended up prying it out with a spatula and covering the broken parts with thick frosting. I omitted the cocoa, following another reviewer's advice and substituted it with cornstarch. I SHOULD have added more than the 1 T vanilla that the recipe called for because the flavor was rather uninspired. (But this was my fault and not the original recipe's). Using all-purpose white flour, the top of one of my rounds fell, and both of them peaked quite dramatically using the temp the recipe called for. Super moist cake, but a bit too dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
the best cake ever!!! I did add more coca to make it almost 1 cup. I love how easy and simply this recipe is to make. Everyone that has tried is amazed how good it is. It is definitely a keeper! I have made this 2 weeks in a row and am easily spoiling my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Five stars for a dairy free cake! My brother has a milk allergy, so I made this for him this weekend. I did substitute 1 c. dark brown sugar for a 1 c. of white. It turned out very moist and also had a nice texture. He wants the recipe so I think it was a hit for someone that usually misses out on chocolate cake! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious! I have made this twice in the last week - once as a cake, then as cupcakes. I used cream cheese frosting both times, adding coconut into the frosting on the cupcakes for a beach-themed party. Both times well-received! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States