Two Bowl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe for me, since it is vegan as well as soy-free (we know some highly allergic kids). I found it very moist and mild in flavour. I substituted a cup of white sugar with brown sugar(that's what I had) and to avoid cocoa, used zest and juice of half a lemon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
this is a geat birthday cake I also vary it by substituting the cocoa with corn starch and adding a different flavouring like strawberry or orange yummy evry time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
This is also a recipe that is a favorite in our family. This was my husbands favorite Birthday cake. He passed away 5 years ago. We remember his Birthday every year sharing this cake. I have two Grandsons now who request this cake for their Birthdays. Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Very moist and easy. Looked wonderful, was told it tastes almost like texas sheet cake. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
thank you for a great recipe.i have kids with allergies to eggs and nuts and i finally found an egg-free recipe that works. i definitely will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this cake following one reviewer's suggestion of omitting cocoa, using white and brown sugar and adding lemon. It was DELICIOUS! Here's a hint for feeding it to your family: don't tell them what's NOT in it! When mine heard 'no eggs, no butter, no milk' their faces looked like I had said it had liver in it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was a great cake. I followed the recipe exactly. I'm really not a chocolate cake person, but this was excellent! My husband loved it too! I made some frosting for it, but it was so moist that I really didn't need it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This cake is excellent! I've made it for every birthday in our house over the last year, and for every birthday the kids have gone to (1 is egg allergic and they are both lactose intolerant) since they need to bring their own cake. It is super moist, comes out of the pan well and is easy to spread with icing. I've cut back on the cocoa to 3 tbsps, I figure the kids don't need that much caffeine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
BEST CAKE EVER! I made this for my son's birthday party,and he is allergic to eggs, so he never gets to have cake at parties. Not this time! It was so easy to make, and cheap! Last year for the egg free alternative we bought an expensive icecream cake. I didn't have to do that this year because of this recipe! Thank you so much! I will use this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is a great recipe! My daughter is allergic to milk AND eggs so I was looking for a choc cake recipe without these two things for quite some time. Tried it on Mother's Day last weekend and I was pleasantly surprised. I was sooo happy looking at how happy my little 4 year old was eating the cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States