Twisted Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I found the sour cream taste to be overpowering..I would halve the amount next time. I would also add more corn. I used frozen vegetables cause I don't like the canned taste. I also found it a bit bland..so I added some fried onion rings into the actual mix. Everyone LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
The ingredients sound great in theory, but we made this for Thanksgiving & not a single guest would have it again. The sour cream was overpowering and the cheese formed a crust that was too chewy. We did substitute whole fresh green beans for the canned and that was a mistake as well. I guess while we were adventurous, we should've stuck with the tried and true - not twisted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
It was okay at first. I did read other reviews and I was told to half the sourcream and I did. However, the cream was still too much compared to the vegetables. So I ended up adding another can of green beans and corn to make it up, and THAT way it was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
this has replaced regular green bean casserole in our houseeveryone loves it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Sorry, I just didn't think this was good. I'll stick to the regular old green bean casserole next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The idea was great but the sour cream was too much. It was too sloppy in my opinion and everyone said that all they could taste was the sour cream. I also felt it needed a little bit more flavor, like salt and pepper. But I would be willing to try it again just way less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was just OK. We liked it with the corn, but it was missing something. Salt and pepper helped. I'll probably combine ideas from other similar recipes and try it again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hudson's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
amazing, i am not a mushroom person so i never had green bean casserole before. but now i will have it all the time with this recipe! mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Maybe it's because I doubled the recipe, but this took FOREVER to cook, and by the time it was finally hot, the sour cream/ soup mixture just sat on top. I thought it would seep through, but it was like a really overpowering layer of cream, and then the beans and corn by themselves. Again, maybe if it were the original recipe amount, the sour cream would have seeped in. Seriously, no one touched it on Christmas, and I was stuck with a TON of it to take home, that ended up getting tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
We made this for a family dinner and everyone loved it. The sour cream goes so well with the corn and green beans. The beans were a bit soggy on the bottom so may try to mix the sour cream mix with the beans and corn next time. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States