Twinkie® Wiener Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I'll admit, I'm giving this more four stars for being a "Weird Al" Yankovic reference from his film "UHF", since I am somewhat of a fan of his. Having said this, as a joke I did just try it today. It's...not wonderful, no. But it's not as bad as one might think it could be. Is it healthy? I doubt it. :) If one ignores the UHF reference, then I'd rate it 3 stars and call it something to try once. As an aside, I do wonder if any of the one star reviews tried this, or just decided it was disgusting based only on description. If I think I'd hate something but haven't tried it, I won't review it. That to me is very unfair, even for a "joke" recipie from a movie like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Is it possible to give a recipe NO stars???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Can't believe this is actually on here as a "recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is so cool! I love the idea, and I will try it just as soon as I can get my hands on some Twinkies. Maybe I'll make one of these the next time I'm having hot dogs;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is disgusting, I dont care if it came from a movie. This is a recipe for a heart attack. ugh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
If health and nutrition is of no concern to you..eat up! For anyone health conscious...avoid like the plaque!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Love that you put this on here! Love Weird Al! This truly is disgusting! Especially dipped in a cup of milk! But no self-respecting Weird Al fan can complete their life without having this once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
At first glance this seems really unappealing. At first taste, it’s really not bad! I think Weird Al was on to something. The only mistake I made was going upscale on the wiener using a Boar’s Head wiener with a natural casing – it’s a little hard to bite into and tends to pull it apart. Should have stuck with a simple Oscar Mayer wiener which would have made this really good instead of just pretty good. I would best describe this as a dessert with a little meat. Once you get by the ingredients and try it as a snack you’ll be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
please, don't use easy cheese with this! In this case, velveeta is better. In fact, I would double the amount of velvetta, because this recipe is sooo cheesy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A clever sandwich for a clever man. My husband really likes to eat these, not everyday, more like once every leapyear, he says they are a cured meat sensation. He tried to get me to take a bite, but the smell of the processed cheese squirt, made my stomach gurgle in a very unpleasant way. While slicing the twinkie in half to make a bun for the weiner is the traditional manner of making these I think cutting the the weiner and twinkies into bite size pieces and skewering them on a bamboo stick (twinkie wiener kebab, anyone?) could really uplevel this treat. You could plan a fun UHF party around these, also add in a wheel of fish (sushi rice krispie treats), flying poodle cookies, ghandi's steak bites (pioneer woman has a recipe), mashed potato mountains, Yappy's dog treats, etc. the appetizer options are freaking limitless! Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States