Twinkie® Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Used a strong coffee instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McCullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
tried this, followed the recipe but didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I made this on the 4th of July for my brother, a friend, and myself. It didn't turn out quiet well. I think the issue was that I used a mascarpone substitute instead of the real deal. I will attempt this recipe again but next time with actual mascarpone. Other than that hiccup, loved the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanChica_FoodLover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
was ok but nothing wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Mmmm! SO yummy. :) Since my main entree was quite labor-intensive, I opted for an easy dessert. Not wanting anything too basic (and needing a dessert I could serve with an Italian-themed holiday meal), I decided on Witchywoman's tiramisu. Not only was this delicious, it took no time flat to prepare (unlike traditional tiramisu). To boot, my ingredient list was short AND inexpensive and the ingredients were easy to find! As with any recipe, I think there is room for improvision. Here are my two suggestions: a) Use pasteurized eggs. They are safe to eat raw (I just can't bring myself to eat raw eggs!) and b) Serve at room temperature. This is my opinion, but if you think about it, tiramisu is never served cold from the fridge (at least not any tiramisu I've had). For a pretty presentation, I served my tiramisu "parfait-style" in pretty wine glasses, sprinkled with cocoa and garnished with fresh mint. I think next time (there WILL be a next time!), I'm going to use ladyfingers instead of Twinkies tho.... I want to see if I like them better (the Twinkies are a neat idea, but I think I'd prefer to subsitute them next time). Thanks for sharing your creative recipe, withcywoman! My dinner guests (parents) give this a thumbs-up. I have yet to convince my hubby he MUST try this again (my way), but that doesn't mean I won't make another attempt to change his mind lol! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Tiramisu is my all time favorite dessert and when I saw this recipe I got all excited! It's a great, easy recipe that definitely taste like the real deal. Loved the filling and you couldn't tell that you had used twinkies. One thing I may do differently next time is decrease the coffee liqueur a little bit, the alcohol bite was just a little much for me. Thanks WW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really good - really easy- REALLY addictive! -------D@mn (that was my thighs review, LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by short order cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Well, I never thought someone could make me like twinkies.( I remembered that after I ate two out of the box :) The only thing that got me there was the kahlua LOL This was terrific. SO EASY and very tasty. Couldn't even taste the twinkie. I will certainly make a large pan for a party. As you can see in the photos, I put it in a small glass pan so it looked like a traditional tiramisu. This is a real winner. Taste just like tiramisu. I made it last night and had a piece for breakfast by the pool. MMMMM breakfast of champions. This could be one more reason that I am not bikini ready LOL Thanks Witchywoman. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
It doesn't get any easier or better than this! Definitely a keeper! The marscapone mixture is delicious. I recommend buying a BIG box of twinkies so you have extras to munch on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was VERY GOOD and I actually had a blast making it! I wanted to see all the components, so I layered it in a clear glass. I didn't have any mascarpone, so I used the 'Mascarpone Substitute' recipe from here. Also, I am afraid of raw eggs, so I omitted the egg yolk. Just to make it look more 'classy' I dusted the top with cocoa powder. Tiramisu is one of my all-time favorite desserts and I really enjoyed this fun twist on it! Thanks, WW, for such a fun and delicious recipe that I know I'll be making again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States