Twilight Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I forgot to add a step! After it is taken off the stove, it needs to cool in the fridge/freezer until it is just hard enough to scoop out with a small cookie scoop. It should still be "sticky" enough for your choice of coating to adhere to the truffle. *UPDATE* Someone reviewed it who said they couldn't get the right consitency while in the fridge. I will add that you HAVE to stir it a couple times while it's in there. So sorry I didn't put that at first, and I hope no one else will have problems with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I didn't add the optional espresso powder as I felt it would be too strong for my taste. also the type of baking chocolate was not specified...there is more than one kind, I went with the normal unsweetened and it turned out amazing! also...after cooling for a while in fridge I scooped out approximately the amount for each ball and let them cool in fridge on baking sheet...then took it out a bit later to shape them more. This seemed to work better since otherwise you would need to let them cool for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Simply YUMMY! I don't bother rolling it into a ball, just pour it into an aluminum pan 1" deep and cut into bite size squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made these today for a party. They were so simple to make and really good! I stuck some in the freezer for a later craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Amazing! These truffles are super rich and oh so delicious. I did add the espresso powder, it gave these a wonderful flavor and really complemented the chocolate. I rolled these in crushed pecans, didn't want to roll them in anything sweet because they are so rich! Thanks Mykaela for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
5 Star taste but 2 Star for prep. These taste AMAZING. I used Ghirardelli chocolate and dark roast coffee. Mine never got to a workable consistency. When I chilled the mix the outer layer hardened completely while the middle stayed a soupy mess. I finally had to put both hands in to make small balls of goop. I dropped each into a muffin paper (next time find candy size). For toppings I used sprinkles, coconut, honey roasted peanuts, peanut butter, orange liqueur, slivered toasted almonds, craisins, raisins & powdered sugar. If you can figure out how to make this recipe manageable for you, it will easily become your go-to favorite. Big Valentines Day hit - but wow, give yourself time to figure out the best technique. Here's hoping everyone else has more success because these really do taste better than anything I've ever bought at a candy counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Flavor is excellent. Fairly time consuming. I dipped them in melted dark chocolate after chilling. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Yum! I made these without the espresso powder, and they were delicious. I did modify the preparation, but not the ingredients. I put all of the ingredients in a large pyrex measuring cup and heated in the microwave for 2 or 3 minutes, stirring every 30 sec., until the chocolate was melted and the mixture was smooth. I skipped the 1st refrigeration step and just poured the molten chocolate into candy papers (mini baking cups), then put those in the frig for a couple of hours. Next time I will sprinkle on some nuts or sprinkles before I refrigerate them, and I will also try with a single pecan on top and maybe some mint extract in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My sisters and I made this for my mom on Mother's Day- it was her favorite part of the meal. We let it refrigerate over night before we scooped it into balls that morning; it worked better than waiting just an hour (we were opening the refrigerator more than necessary). We used a melon baller for the general shape and then used our fingers to make them more uniform. Then we wiped our fingers with a paper towel before rolling them in pecans and coconut, so they would look lovely for Mom. We continued to store them in the refrigerator because Georgia is warm and humid in May.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These turned out fantastically! They were simple, and tasted just as good as any of the ridiculously expensive truffles you buy in the store. I left out the espresso powder and it was really really good, so if you don't like coffee flavor, don't hesitate to make them without the optional espresso! Another thing my friend and I did was with the melted chocolate mixture in the sauce pan, after we poured almost all of it into the bowl to cool, was dip strawberries in the still hot melted mixture. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woobeewoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States