Twice Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
The fish needs to be cooked longer than indicated for the first frying, otherwise the fish isn't done and won't flake. I breaded with flour. Then in another pan, I added all the sauce stuff and then transferred the fish into there (where again I cooked it longer). Overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Like Chinese BBQ. Even the kids like this one. I used walleye instead of cod and tomato paste instead of canned tomato sauce. I served with White and Wild Rice Pilaf. Num.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good. Used Ocean Perch because it was fresh. Doubled the ketchup/tomato sauce, and added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard to cut the sweetness a bit. No salt needed. Hoisin,soy sauce are both salty. Taste like BBQ fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLMCKEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Omit the salt and it's perfect! I also used ketchup instead of tomato sauce to avoid opening an entire can and it came out great. Very flavorful and perfect served over rice with a side of steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
EXCELLENT!!! I used a fresh whole red snapper and can't wait to do this recipe again. My mom made her creole sauce she always makes for fried fish but this time nobody even looked at it. She even took my printed recipe to make some shrimps with it, we loved it. I was even goin to take some pics to post but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pujimonchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made this as written, and thought the sauce was super sour and strong-tasting. I diluted it down a bit with low sodium chicken broth, but it was still really salty and overwhelming. I don't really understand the whole "twice fried" thing tbh. It didn't add anything to the fish at all. Anyway, this turned out ok but not amazing. There are better ways to cook cod imo. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I cooked this last night and it was really lovely. I only tweaked the recipe by useing low salt soy sauce as my husband is diabetic and I was not sure what the tomato sauce was as I think our tomato sauce in australia is like your ketchup so I used that as I was not sure what you meant is it what we would call tomato paste? Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Good dish, but rather bland for using Hoisin sauce. Fish tasted very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I gave this a 4 star rating only because I would not serve this to guests but liked it myself. I got mixed reviews from two other family members, one liked it and one didn't. The sauce is a bit on the strong side. The changes I made were 1T of ketchup instead of tomato sauce as I didn't want to open up a can for 1T and I used 1/2 tsp salt. I served it with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
The sauce was really excellent! Very flavorful. I did leave the salt out of the sauce, but I also coated the fish in cornstarch seasoned with salt and pepper before frying, so that added most of the salt back. I made this recipe with some other Chinese-ish dishes, and this one was my favorite, hands down. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States