Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I am only rating the sauce as I used leftover coconut shrimp from a restaurant. I sprayed a baking sheet w/ Pam, adding the shrimp & then gave them a light spray too, to help them crisp back up. The sauce is wonderful! Better than the sauce Joe's Crab Shack served w/ the coconut shrimp!!! I thought on the test bite that there might be just a tad too much mustard but changed my mine after diping my shrimp in it...I think it's perfect just the way it is....thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I cooked the shrimp only once. I coated the shrimp with House Autry seafood breader before dipping them into the batter and coconut. For the batter,I used beer instead of water. I deep fried the shrimp for a couple of minutes and that was it. Preparation takes a while but this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was VERY YUMMY!But, I didn't put them in the oven, I forgot that part of th recipe! They were still delicious. For the sauce, I just used apricot jam. BUT, had I read the nutritional info first, I may not have made them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
The shrimp was way over cooked. Will stick to my regular proceedure; one box of tempura mix, prepared as directed, dip shrimp in tempura batter, roll in coconut, coating well, drop into hot oil, (deep fryer on highest heat), also, do not put in the fryer basket, leave basket on the bottom of the fryer until shrimp is ready to remove, cook 4 minutes, drain on rack with paper towel under the rack, stays very crispy and shrimp is very tender. The hot oil will help keep the coconut on the shrimp. Dipping sauce was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This recipe was a bit of an ordeal to make. It was messy and difficult to get the coconut to stick. Definitely make the shrimp just the barest light brown before putting in the oven or the shrimp will be tough. As far as the sauce, I didn't have the correct mustard so I used stone ground mustard and it was delicious...very zippy! My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I was very disapointed in the fact that 4 min. was to long to cook the shrimp, putting the shrimp in the oven for 5 min. made the batter to crisp and dry. I think I would only cook shrimp 3 min. and put in the oven for a couple of min. and thats it. The dipping sauce was GREAT. We baked true cod fellits to go with it. I put the dipping sauce on top of the cod before I baked it. That was out of this worrrrrld. Try it, you'll like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DALENARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakridge, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
The coconut barely sticks to the shrimp. Really complicated to make it all work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Very weasy but super greasy. I am still on the lookout for lowfat, light coconut shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
yeah baby! i will make this again, used half the water, messy and time consuming but worth it, loved the sauce too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I didn´t use this recipe for the coconut shrimp but the dipping sauce is out of this world, it is the exactly one served at Outback and the flavor is just amazing, I added extra hot pepper sauce not to make it hotter but to cut the sweetness a little bit, very easy to make and enjoyable with almost everything...thank you Holly! I´ve been looking for this for quite some time and now I will make it again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States