Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Rating the sauce only. It's wonderful! Tastes better than the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
We cooked these without baking them in the oven. We used pre-cooked shrimp and just fried them in the oil. They turned out pretty darn good but lacking coconut flavor. Make sure the batter is really thick (less water) so that it sticks to the shrimp. A lot of fun to make with my friends! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Really good - especially the dipping sauce! I only fried the shrimp - baking would toughen it too much. It was light ans crispy - not too greasy. I actually used homemade blackberry jam in place of the marmalade - which I didn't have. And although it changed the color from golden to a deep wine color, it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
The shrimp were ok, but I didn't fry them - just baked them and attempted broiling them. The sauce was delicious...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
used the sauce, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This recipe was divine! Melt in your mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe! The dip was to die for! I served this at a dinner party and everyone enjoyed. The dip was absolutely wonderful. One helpful hint: I put the coconut in a large freezer bag (with some flour) and shook up the shrimp in the bag. It made things a little less messy. Thanks for a great recipe and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
My husband and I love these shrimp! Like other reviewers, I suggest using less water to create a thicker batter. I also cut down on the mess by putting the coconut in a bag, dropping the battered shrimp in, sealing the bag and shaking the shrimp around inside. I also found it was not necessary to bake the shrimp. The dipping sauce was PERFECT and would compliment chicken and pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I am only rating the sauce as I used leftover coconut shrimp from a restaurant. I sprayed a baking sheet w/ Pam, adding the shrimp & then gave them a light spray too, to help them crisp back up. The sauce is wonderful! Better than the sauce Joe's Crab Shack served w/ the coconut shrimp!!! I thought on the test bite that there might be just a tad too much mustard but changed my mine after diping my shrimp in it...I think it's perfect just the way it is....thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I cooked the shrimp only once. I coated the shrimp with House Autry seafood breader before dipping them into the batter and coconut. For the batter,I used beer instead of water. I deep fried the shrimp for a couple of minutes and that was it. Preparation takes a while but this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States